spaghettipie

The Body

I’m fulfilling the role of “Administrative Director” for an event during the Christmas season where we put on a 12-scene drive-through presentation of the life of Christ. I attended our first meeting tonight, and I am so excited to be a part of this. Many different churches, from different denominations and different cultures are involved. Just praying together over the event was such a beautiful picture of the body of Christ that I felt emotional as we approached the throne in unity.

Isn’t this what community is really all about? Setting aside our differences because we serve the same Master? It seems that we so often get caught up in defending our particular (let me qualify – “non-essential”) theologies or preserving “our way” of worship or even competing with other churches, that we forget we are many parts to only one Body. I read a quote recently that said something to the effect of “Christ is coming back for His Bride, not a harem.” I realized that this experience is more than an opportunity to serve and use my gifts; it’s going to grow me spiritually. I told my husband this evening that I want to go visit the churches of the people involved, just to worship with a new set of people in a different way. Not to find a new church, but to experience the Church.

And when we bind together in unity, I know His name will be proclaimed.

Make every effort to keep the unity of the Spirit through the bond of peace. There is one body and one Spirit—just as you were called to one hope when you were called— one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is over all and through all and in all. Ephesians 4:3-5

2 comments

Leave a Reply

