spaghettipie

Stewardship update

Things continue to go pretty well.

Finances: We haven’t gone out to eat yet (aside from the barbecue we picked up for the party this weekend; but that event was planned over a month ago!), and the temptation is gradually subsiding. I actually didn’t spend any money with my daughter last week.

Time: We really didn’t turn on the television much, although I guess I cheated a little yesterday by catching up on the past three episodes of Last Comic Standing online. (They’ve been behind on posting them!) And we’ve held firm to the two days a week at home.

Resources: I’ve been thinking about our consumption of disposable products more (we live in such a disposable society!), and am determined now to reduce our use of paper napkins, paper towels and ziplock bags. We started using our cloth napkins more already. The rest of this area is going fine. I baked bread today, as well as some pizza dough for homemade pizza. (Michelle, you totally missed out!) While I haven’t posted any new projects, I did complete a mini-project on Sunday: cleaning out my daughter’s toys.

Body: Made it to the gym, and did work out at home. No weight loss as of this morning, though :(. Water and food is getting better, but whoever left dessert at my house in the past four days needs to be punished!

Relationships: Met another new neighbor tonight. Working on the calendar for the next couple months.

I’m starting another blog focused solely on this stewardship stuff, so watch for it in the next few weeks. I won’t be posting as detailed updates here once it gets up and running.

6 comments

  1. I have to say, the thing that saves me on the eating out front, which we don’t do much of in part due to the ages of our children, is PLANNING. I cook dinner 3-4 nights / week, the other nights are planned leftovers or a freezer meal. So, one night a week I’ll make extra of whatever we’re having and throw one in the freezer. Another night, I’ll grill extra chicken breasts and we’ll use some in a stir fry the next night, and throw some on top of salad for lunch. And the next night, I make extra brown rice with the stir fry, and use the brown rice the next day with the rest of the leftover chicken to make a salad. You get the idea. The key is to be organized about it to maximize efficiency and reduce waste.

    Planned leftovers saves me.

    Good luck with all of this!!

  2. These stewardship posts are definitely inspiring me to take action. I’ve zeroed in on the paper towel usage; I’ve got to learn to use a kitchen towel to dry my hands on! I’ve been consuming far too many disposable items, and the amount of trash I have shows it. To think that all that ends up in a landfill somewhere is pretty sobering.

  3. spaghettipie

    LM – I’ve missed you! I love your thoughts. I try to plan some around leftovers, but I’m not that consistent. And I surely haven’t tried making an extra whatever to throw in the freezer. I have to start trying that!

    A – I’m glad you’re thinking about it. It’s become an increasingly more important topic to me.

  4. SP – I’m a faithful reader, of course, but at times I’m whipping through the blogs and don’t have (or take) time to comment.

    And I leave that suggestion not to give you *one more thing* to add to your list, but to remind you to plan a break for yourself. I find I cannot cook 7 days out of the week (and I like to cook)! So a planned break is necessary. (And my kids aren’t old enough to take a turn yet!) 🙂

  5. Pingback: Another Stewardship Update « spaghettipie

  6. Pingback: Another Stewardship Update « Stewardship Living

Leave a Reply

