spaghettipie

Sausage Crescent Rolls (aka Pigs in a blanket) – Recipe

So for the party today, I made pigs in a blanket for the first time ever. To be honest, Little Smokies borderline gross me out. But we needed cheap, easy breakfast snacks, and pigs in blanket won hands down. Actually, the recipe was so easy and the results so tasty, I thought I would post it for you. My mom and I joked that she didn’t know where I learned how to cook since I wing it so much. She’s a to-the-teaspoon recipe follower, while I see recipes more like suggestions.

Anyway, here’s the recipe. I made the dough using my bread machine. The crescent roll part was adapted from a recipe I found on allrecipes.com, by the way. And, of course, a few cans of crescent rolls also work.

Ingredients:

  • 1-1/8 C warm water
  • 3 eggs
  • 6 C all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1-1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 C butter, cut into small pieces
  • 2 tsp active dry yeast
  • more softened butter
  • 3 lbs Little Smokies (or you could cut up pieces of sausage)

Directions:

Add water and eggs to bread machine pan. Cover liquid with flour. Add sugar, salt and butter in separate corners. Make a small indentation in the center of flour (but not to the liquid) and add yeast. Set the bread machine to the dough setting. I used the 2 lb loaf size and was afraid it over-kneaded it – but it still turned out tender.

Once the machine is finished with the dough cycle, turn out the dough onto a lightly floured area. Mine looked a little wet, but was actually more manageable than I thought. Punch the dough down and knead lightly a few times. Divide the dough into three sections. While working with one section, you might cover the others with a lightly oiled piece of saran wrap.

I rolled the dough out into a rectangle and cut it into about 2-1/2 inch wide strips. Take each strip and cut it into smaller triangles. (If you’re using the canned kind, I would unroll the whole thing into one big rectangle and push the perforated parts together. Then follow the previous instructions.) Lightly brush each triangle with some softened butter, then place the sausage on the wide end and roll down to the narrow end.

Bake on an ungreased cookie sheet at 400 degrees for about 10-12 minutes (or until lightly browned).

I made them the night before and then warmed them in the oven this morning. Enjoy!

A couple variations: Add a sprinkle of shredded cheese or a jalapeno before you roll them up. You’d want to use a bigger strip if you do that.

I would show you a picture, but they were all eaten!

4 comments

  1. Don’t ya just love the bread maker? I am currently living with out one. The first two I actually used until they broke and the the third I tried to get all “quanitity” instead of “quality” and ruined it.

    I tried to do a double batch on a dough cycle. You know, to save time? Amazingly the burner still turns on just a bit on the dough cycle to get the dough warm for rising…but when you put too much dough it rises right over the edge and on to the hot burner…not a happy thing.

    The recipe sounds great!

  2. spaghettipie

    K – I couldn’t do homemade bread (or pizza dough or foccacia or. . .) without a bread maker. I just wouldn’t do it.

    N – We’re so glad you had a great time!

    LM – They were quite tasty, I must say. Canned dough is definitely nice in a pinch, but I think it’s worth the time to make them from scratch. (Plus you avoid all the processed parts.)

Leave a Reply

