spaghettipie

A mini-reunion

Therefore, let us consider one another, how we might spur each other on toward love and good deeds. Let us not give up meeting together, all the more as we see the Day approaching. Hebrews 10:24-25

Today I spent a couple precious hours with a group of women who have encouraged me since the very beginning inklings of my writing “career.” Some of them I used to consider as just my mother’s friends, and now I count them as my own friends. Some of them I didn’t even know before two years ago, and now I’ve laughed with them in our pajamas, cried with them as we’ve shared our hurts and our struggles, and rejoiced with them in the blessings God has granted us. We have a wide variety of personalities and are each walking in a different stage of life. Each one of them is special to me in her own unique way, and together we portray a beautiful picture of the Body of Christ.

Isn’t that the amazing thing about fellowship? I found an immediate connection with these women, not just because we are all writers, but because we all serve the same Lord. Within this fellowship, we have permission to be authentic and know the others will still love us. We can confess our weaknesses and thank God together for the fact that He is so much greater. I am so thankful for these friends. They provided me with a tangible reminder of what our pastor talked about this Sunday in Hebrews. Being relational – that’s what this life is all about. I experience God more fully, understand Him more deeply, as a result of my relationships with others. This group of women teaches me about characteristics of God in a way that I can see and feel. It’s not that the Bible isn’t enough – certainly it is – but for my human brain, tangible experiences help me fully grasp concepts more quickly and completely.

So today, Anita, D’Ann, Jeanne, Leslie, Mary, Pam and TJ, I’m praising God for you!

Photo: D’Ann’s beautiful egg casserole (sadly, the only picture I took!)

4 comments

  1. spaghettipie

    Laura – Absolutely!
    LL – I’m glad you liked it. Too bad you couldn’t taste it through the picture because it was yum!

Leave a Reply

