spaghettipie

Deceptively Delicious

Okay, so I realize a ton of you are visiting my blog because you searched for information on Jessica Seinfeld’s new book. Here’s the deal: I haven’t read it. I’m going to go tomorrow to buy it so I can post a review since so many people are stopping by (presumably to get more information on it). I posted about it because a friend of mine called me part way through the Oprah episode that featured her and told me to turn the TV on. I’ll admit, I’m intrigued. Here’s what I know and what I like about the concept, only having watched the episode:

1) Jessica’s idea is NOT to replace teaching your children (and maybe husband?) to eat vegetables with just sneaking them into their food. If it was, I’d be vehemently against this book. We’d just be training our kids to eat junk and forgo vegetables, and then what would they do when they got out into the real world where mom doesn’t make their food and McDonald’s isn’t coating their nuggets in broccoli? What she IS saying is that you continue to serve vegetables to your children with their meals, but you don’t have to worry about a lack of nutrition. You can concentrate on simply teaching them to try the vegetables and learn to eat them.

2) She mentioned that when she doesn’t include a puree in their food now, her husband accuses her of serving store-bought food. I totally get this. Adding the purees gives an additional dimension to the flavor of the food. As odd as it sounds, I can totally see how beets make a chocolate cake taste better. They are naturally sweet, so their flavor does not conflict with the cake, and their earthy flavor probably adds a certain depth and robustness that enhances the flavor of the chocolate.

3) I’ve seen complaints that since she’s a celebrity, she probably has an entire staff at her beck and call to do her pureeing, cooking and even parenting. First of all, I think that’s a little unreasonable to throw out an entire book based upon an interesting idea (which does appear to yield tasty, effective results) because you’re bitter that she has help. Secondly, while it does take a little more effort to add these extra ingredients in, I don’t see where it would have to be so much that you have to hire someone to help you around the house. Take an afternoon a month to prepare a lot of purees in advance and then freeze them. It doesn’t take much time then during the rest of the month to pull them out, thaw then in the microwave and throw them into your dinner. And isn’t that little bit of extra time worth the additional nutrition?

Okay, enough rambling for now. I’ll add another post with a review of the book and the recipes early next week.

***********************************************************************************

Here’s my original post from October 8:

So did you guys catch Oprah today? Check out these recipes from a new interesting book/cookbook by Jessica Seinfeld, Jerry Seinfeld’s wife. I’m completely fascinated. Anyone want to try some with me? I’m going to try the Scrambled Eggs with Cauliflower and the Chocolate Cake with Beets. I’ll let you guys know how it turns out.

6 comments

  1. spaghettipie

    S – Hmm, so what are you going to try first? BTW, thanks for calling me to tell me to turn Oprah on!

  2. spaghettipie

    T – Let me know if the book itself is good.
    C – I’m afraid they didn’t make the cut. You’d have to add pureed spinach or squash or something to get it in her book. . .

Leave a Reply

