spaghettipie

Loads of Free Books

If you’re a book lover or if you’re looking for free books you can give away for Christmas, I’ve got a couple places to tell you about.

greatbigbookgiveawaybutton.jpgFirst, for children’s books, my friend Tanya Dennis at Christian Children’s Book Review is giving away free a different Christian children’s book every day during November. All you have to do is visit their site each day, review the current posting, and if you’d like to enter the drawing for that book, leave a comment answering the question of the day. Pretty simple for a free children’s book. (Have you been to a bookstore lately to see how expensive they can be??) Go check it out, and let them know I sent ya.

The second place you can win free books is at my friend Marla’s website, Leap of Faith. For November, she’ll be giving away the following books.

  • BELOVED by Toni Morrison (paperback with gold Nobel Prize seal)
  • THE NANNY DIARIES by Emma McLaughlin and Nicola Kraus (paperback)

  • THE ONE-YEAR MINI DEVOTIONAL FOR BUSY WOMEN by Jennifer King (autographed hardcover)

  • WHAT’S THE BIG DEAL ABOUT JESUS? by John Ankerberg and Dillon Burroughs (autographed paperback)

And while you’re there, check out the rest of Marla’s site. She has some great resources and wonderful posts. Again, let her know I sent you.

So while we’re at it (and to see if you’re still with me), what are you currently reading? I’m actively reading the new Russo book, and still in the middle of a couple others.

6 comments

  1. Reading right now. Hmmm…

    One book about women being “saved from the church” (reviewing for endorsement), Tikki Tikki Tembo (well, that’s a short one, but I’m thinking to use it in a talk), Crunchy Cons, A Sacred Sorrow, and Real Live Preacher. And, of course, labels on the sides of boxes.

  2. Congrats on winning a book on Marla’s website! You & TJ are so lucky!

    I am reading Eat Pray Love, The Kite Runner, and The Rest of God (still haven’t finished this yet). Though all of those may have to wait because a friend just loaned me Twelve Mighty Orphans and raved about it.

  3. Thanks for the plug! 🙂 I am currently reading … Raising Your Spirited Child (Mary Sheedy Kurcinka), Remption (Karen Kingsbury), Voices of the Faithful (Beth Moore) and Prayer (Philip Yancey).

  4. spaghettipie

    LL – That first book sounds interesting. I’d love to see your review.
    A – You’re reading several books that are on my list. What’s TMO about (besides orphans who are mighty)
    T – No problem. How’s that parenting book? I wonder because I have a “spirited” child (is that what you call extremely active, independent, and strong-willed??”)

  5. lol. Yes, that’s exactly what you call it. 🙂 The subtitle of the book is “a guide for parents whose child is more intense, sensitive, perceptive, persistent, engergetic”. The author wrote it about my son. It ‘s not a “christian” book, but has been VERY helpful! I’m learning about myself, my husband and both our kids. More specifically, I’m learning how to handle my son’s temperament while maintaining sanity. I’m about 2/3 finished. Once I’m done I’ll post a review on my site for you.

  6. Twelve Mighty Orphans is the amazing story of the Masonic Home Mighty Mites, “a football team of undersized orphans so captivating that they grabbed the attention of an entire state [Texas] and much of America for the entire decade . . . fearless kids who brought hope to all in the cruelest years of the Depression.” Since the book is based here in FW and I like football, I thought it would be a good one to read.

Leave a Reply

