spaghettipie

Unwanted comments

I love getting comments on my blog posts, and I try to respond to every one.

But what I don’t get is spam comments. Must junk mail infiltrate every single part of our lives? I just logged on, and I already had 13 comments that have been filtered out (not counting the ones the filter already knows how to screen). The not-so-nice ones of an intimate nature are reeeeeaalllly gross, not just about special medications and such. That’s sort of disturbing to me. And what’s up with all of the car dealers?

So what do you think about spam?

10 comments

  1. meh

    Hate it! I feel the same way about sales calls at 8:00 AM on Saturday morning (yes, it happened last week) and junk mail in my mail box and commercials during “family programming” that make me blush and scramble for the remote.

  2. spaghettipie

    LM – How about a trade? I have ocean front property in Arizona.

    MEH – I totally agree!

    C – Mmmmm, spam. What IS it, anyway?

    M – Sorry. Craver’s a quick wit, you know.

  3. But how else will you know where to go to enragle your pines?

    Or where to find the best [racial or ethnic group] on [racial or ethnic group] h*t teen [improbable act with kitchen implements] totally nude [s**uality] action? It’s like someone gathered up all the “dirty” mad libs we made as young whipper snappers and is now making money of them, somehow, by flooding everyones email with them. What’s not to love about that?

  4. I don’t get so many on the blogs but boy do I get them in my work email – you’d think a Jesuit institution would know what words to put into the filter to keep them away, wouldn’t you?

    And now, it’s not just the emails themselves – it’s the RE: that is so vulgar that you can’t help but see it while you are deleting and blocking – yuck!

  5. spaghettipie

    M – What are you trying to do to me? I get enough spam as it is!

    S – I totally agree. It’s shocking sometimes just skimming the subject lines. Although I have to admit when I was scanning the “caught” unwanted comments today the word “midget” cracked me up.

    MG – Yes, it does catch everything. Nearly 1000 comments since mid-July, in fact. Thank goodness for that. I’m just amazed at the sheer volume of it all.

  6. Sorry 😦

    🙂

    Yeah, Akismet is awesome. According to the little thingy on my site it’s stopped 38,455 spam comments on my site since I installed it, and that was sometime this past summer.

Leave a Reply

