spaghettipie

Ben Stein and Expelled

When you say the name “Ben Stein,” I almost automatically hear in my head, “Bueller? Bueller?” But after hearing about his latest movie venture, I looked up his bio and was surprised to read about so much more than just Hollywood. Oh, in the back of my mind I knew he’s always been politically active, but I didn’t know the media ever speculated he was Deep Throat, from Nixon days.

I remember reading his resignation letter and applauding his reason for leaving. I found it a refreshing perspective that didn’t feel fake or like the “in” thing to do.

Now, I’m curious to go see Ben’s movie Expelled. Have you heard about it? Basically, Ben Stein explores the reasons why intelligent design is excluded as a possible scientific theory and how scientists who advocate its inclusion (not even its validity) have been persecuted. They’ve launched a major web campaign, targeting students, educators, and the general public. Check it out and let me know what you think. It’s definitely worth watching since I think it’s going to make big waves. It’s already been discussed numerous times on Richard Dawkin’s website and various other similar places. The language being used is extremely strong (I suspect it will be on both sides). I’ll be interested to see how we as Christians react – with grace and love or defensiveness and competition?

4 comments

  1. real live preacher

    I had not heard about this movie. i’ll have to check it out. By the way, your link goes to an article he wrote about the closing of Morton’s, a restaurant. is that what you intended?

  2. spaghettipie

    M – Feb 2008
    RLP – Do check it out. It’s definitely going to make some waves (already is.) Ah, thanks for the correction on the article. He talked a lot about Morton’s, and I got them confused. Here’s his resignation, and it was actually from writing for E! online.

Leave a Reply

