spaghettipie

In over my head

My motto throughout life has been “better busy than bored.” Indeed, I often have many balls in the air, but I thrive on the challenge and the activity. As I approached December (and into January), I knew we were heading into a busy season. Aside from the normal Christmas hustle and bustle, I am committed to the following:

  • Be the Administrative Director for a 14-scene drive through, live re-enactment from the life of Christ in a local park. This outreach event is sponsored by churches across our city and requires around 250 volunteers each night for seven nights: Dec 6-9 and Dec 14-16. Did I mention I’ve never fulfilled this role before?
  • Write another article for a local magazine on a church founded by slaves in the late 1800s. Due Jan 5th.
  • Facilitate a 2-hour training session for a network of non-profit boards of directors, complete with a handbook I’m writing that covers, oh, just about everything related to being on a board of directors of a non-profit organization. I was awarded the bid right before Thanksgiving. The training is in late January. I’m in the middle of writing the handbook.
  • Handle the purchase of a new condo for my mother-in-law (we close on Dec 21st), clean out her current house, work with the real estate agent to sell her current house, move her, and work with the interior decorator to set up her new place.
  • My mother-in-law has graciously offered her piano to me since it won’t fit in the new place. Of course, I want it . . . but the addition of a large piece of furniture will cause a ripple effect throughout my house (you know how that goes!).
  • Plan and host a baby shower for one of my very best friends who will be in town over Christmas from California. Shower date is January 2nd. I think close to a bajillion people will be invited.
  • Plan and coordinate a 16-stop blog tour for a parenting speaker/writer during the month of January. I’m busy trying to fill slots (anyone?) now.

Now I certainly don’t share this to sound self-important or imply that others aren’t as busy as I am. (If anything, I suppose you just think I’m crazy!) But I’m feeling a little bit overwhelmed tonight as I think about how to fit everything in and still make time for relationships. Oh, and for Jesus.

I’m loving having the advent guide my writer’s group put together because the short devotionals are exactly the right size for me each day. I hope I can make it to the end because I surely don’t want to miss Him this season.

I’ve also declared in my mind that February will be detox month. I’m going to purge my schedule, purge my house, and purge my body. I’ll look forward to sharing more about that plan as I formulate it.

Meanwhile, I’ll try to stay regular with the blog postings. In the least, I’m continuing with the Parenting Spotlights each week, but I hope to be sharing more about what I’m learning through this season of Advent.

What are you juggling during this busy season and how are you maintaining focus on Christ?

14 comments

  1. Yikes! You’re busy.

    If it will help at all, I can take Mr. Spaghettipie off your hands for one day so he’s not under foot and all that. I have some lead that needs to be added to the dirt pile out at the farm and he can help with that. πŸ™‚ Rick, too, if he’s in town then.

    When it comes time to move the piano, I know a guy who is a piano tuner, I’ll email you his number. Good guy. He sings with my sister in a quartet. Oh, and it can’t go along an exterior wall, which I did not know until we moved Glenda’s piano.

  2. onevoiceinabigworld

    Ok, I think I had an anxiety attack just reading thru your to-do list. Yikes. Call me if you need to get some cofee late nite – I’m a night owl, too. πŸ™‚

  3. spaghettipie

    M – Thanks for the recommendation; we’ll definitely need to have a tuner come out. Email Mr. Pasta about that outing. He always loves a good pile o’ dirt.

    O – I may just take you up on that!

  4. meh

    Wow!! You do have alot on your plate. I am reading Foster’s Celebration of Disciplines and his first chapter on Meditation was what I focused on in November. I hadn’t remembered the Quaker “centering down” method from when I read it before, but found it helpful to focus my heart to listening to Christ last month. It is basically positioning palms down as you “release” the anxieties you are feeling to the Lord, palms up as you make your requests to the Lord, and then sitting in silence for a few minutes listening to what the Lord wants to speak to you.

  5. Thanks for the heads up on the Advent guide. I wrote one last year on line and am hoping to add a few thoughts here and there this seasons. A daily meditation just isn’t on tap this year though, so I appreciate being led there by your group.

    I’ll be praying for all the good work you are doing.

  6. Wow! I thought we were taking a break from writers’ group in December to rest and regroup. Maybe I made that memo just for myself so I could be a slacker this month. But now you’ve gone and inspired me to get some writing goals.

  7. spaghettipie

    MEH – I also like that technique. The physical movement of it is very helpful to me.

    CS – I hope you find encouragement there. And thanks for your prayers!

    A – Oh, I thought we were taking a break from writer’s group so we could fill our plate to overflowing with other stuff . . . must’ve gotten my memos mixed up.

    LL – Honestly, I probably need even longer! πŸ™‚

  8. T! you did look a little tired tonight, friend. I hesitate to say that, b/c you’re never supposed to tell a woman she looks tired… but I knew when you were pushing us out of the park that you needed to get home. πŸ™‚
    Hang in there, sister.

  9. Pingback: On Vacation « Stewardship Living

  10. I can’t help with most of this (wow, lady, you ARE in over your head – or at least, you’re in over MINE haha), but I can offer to be a stop or two on the blog tour. Working mamas can be reached via my professional blog, http://www.Workerette.com; homeschooling and other issues are tackled on my personal blog, Momma & More (http://momnmore.blogspot.com).

    Let me know if I can be of assistance in spreading the word for the tour as well – if you still need bloggers for the tour, I can try to help with my “stable”. πŸ™‚

    Good luck!!!

  11. I found your blog the same way I find many interesting blogs, by just surfing through the blogosphere. I just wanted to let you know that your t0-do list totally stressed me out. I hope you are okay.

    Lynn ~:-D

  12. spaghettipie

    L – Alive and kicking! Glad to be getting to the end of this month, but not nearly as stressed out as I was when I wrote that post. Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

