spaghettipie

Sifting

As I mentioned in a previous post, I’m currently cleaning out my mother-in-law’s place in preparation for her move to a new condo. Here are some of the interesting things I’ve found:

1) Electrical bills from the 1960’s. What clean-out would be complete without them? Seriously, people, don’t do that to your children. Go to your office right now and throw those things away!

2) An enormous suitcase full of mail – some opened, some unopened. I think my mother-in-law goes through her mail, puts it all into a stack on her desk, and then when the stack gets too big, she sticks it into a box, or drawer . . . or suitcase.

3) Court documents from her divorce to my father-in-law, custody battles, and other messes related. Just skimming over them made me so sad. And my poor husband still carries guilt over some decisions that were made despite the fact that he was young and didn’t fully understand.

4) Birth certificates, diplomas, and pictures of grandparents and great-grandparents. Priceless treasures I can’t wait to organize and put into albums.

5)  Drawings and stories from when my husband was young. I enjoyed reading stories about “Dork Dweeb” and the mad starburst named Link (whose cookie head that is glued to the paper is still in tact, and disturbingly still looking like a normal cookie – what’s in those things??).

While some may find this task grueling, I rather enjoy it. Partly because of my enjoyment of organizing things, but mostly because I feel like I learn so much about my husband and his family. When I take a look at those artifacts from his life and heritage, I gain a deeper understanding into the events and people who shaped his life and made him who he is today.

I loved how Donna Otto talked about the Bible being a documentation of our heritage. Just as I learn so much about my husband by handling and examining these pieces of his heritage, I can learn about my own identity and heritage through doing the same with the Bible. I often forget about this valuable piece of my history – our history. I hope to spend a little more time getting to know my family heritage better.

What pieces of our Biblical family history bring you insight into your identity?

2 comments

Leave a Reply

