spaghettipie

My Weight Loss Plan

Okay, so losing the baby weight (um, from over two years ago) has been a total struggle for me. I think the main issue is that I lack discipline. I know the right things to do, I just struggle to make myself actually stick to them.

In an effort to make some lasting change, but not to overwhelm myself (you’d be amazed at the crazy plans I can concoct!) I decided to create a little eight week plan. My goal is to introduce one new healthy habit per week. By the end of the eight weeks, I’ll see how I’m doing. At that point, I’ll see if those habits are working well and consider whether or not to keep adding little habits.

Here’s where I am.

Week of Dec 30th – No food after 10pm. I know for some of you that’s easy because you’re already in bed. But I’m up for a good 3-4 hours more, and the munchies hit right around 11:32pm. So far, I’m doing really well on this one.

Week of Jan 6 – Eat a piece of fruit for a snack. I’m trying to increase my fruit intake and decrease the amount of unhealthy snacking I do. This one has gone pretty well, too.

Week of Jan 13 – Drink 48 oz of water per day. I haven’t actually been measuring this one, but I’m trying to drink a glass of water whenever I’m tempted to snack. If I’m still hungry after drinking the water, I go for a piece of fruit. But most of the time, the water does the trick. I also use a small glass so I don’t feel like I’m forcing massive amounts of water down my throat.

Week of Jan 20 – Eat oatmeal for breakfast three days a week. I know this is good for cholesterol, and I like that it stays with me until lunch time. Hopefully I’ll be sure to eat breakfast the other four days as well.

Week of Jan 27 – 100 crunches a day. I can break them up, if necessary, but I’m inspired by my friend Leslie who does a ton of crunches each day (and looks awesome!).

Week of Feb 3 – Eat salad for lunch twice a week. I’m not going to be really particular about what is in the salad. I just want to work on increasing my veg intake.

Week of Feb 10 – Make it to the gym two to three times per week. I have got to get back into the routine of going to the gym!

Week of Feb 17 – Walk for 30 minutes per day, five days per week. Walking time at the gym counts. I just need to get these little legs moving.

Well, that’s my plan. Stay tuned to see how I do!

8 comments

  1. womantowomancbe

    This is a great plan! I’m also starting my weight-loss plan, and figured out that you have to have a *real* goal, not just some nebulous “I want to lose weight” sort of wish. I need to lose the baby weight from my 2nd baby–19 months ago. I’ll be keeping track of your progress.

  2. lovedandlearning

    Could you please bump up your gym goal a few weeks? My membership expires soon and I’ve been missing my workout partner!!! Otherwise, a very good plan.

  3. onevoiceinabigworld

    I’m intrigued with the concept…I think it’s very doable. But you’re beautiful any way you are 🙂

  4. spaghettipie

    w2w – thanks for stopping by! let me know about your progress, too!
    LL – Me, neither . . . but I’m giving it a try!
    LNL – 🙂 I thought about you when I wrote the gym thing. I’m definitely not waiting to step up the gym time, but I wanted to give myself a little time to work back into it. I’ll be there tomorrow!
    OV – You are sweet. I think I figured out I have to do small things since I’m not terribly disciplined.

  5. You lost me with the 100 crunches a day. Up to that point I’m like: “sure! I could do this!” Then: “What?? Are you crazy?!” 😀 Actually, I do about 30 a day, so maybe if I break them up I could do it. Oh, and my baby weight is more than two years old, too.

  6. I like all of your plans. And I feel like a wimp in comparison. I added the habit of fifteen minutes of workout a day about four months ago and only yesterday upped it to thirty. I’m not sure I could add a new habit every week, but I applaud your efforts. Slow and steady… Maybe I’ll try salads for lunch on a regular basis. You’ve got me inspired!

  7. Pingback: The Plan « spaghettipie

Leave a Reply

