spaghettipie

I’m a Food Network Junkie

We’ve gotten cable television for the first time in our seven years of marriage, and I am A-D-D-I-C-T-E-D to the Food Network. When my husband gets home, we fight over whether or not I get to keep watching Food Network or he gets to watch Discovery Channel.

The fun part of it all is that my daughter actually likes watching Food Network with me.

Here are two reasons why I think I need to cut back on watching the Food Network:

1) The other night we were watching Throw Down. When bedtime arrived, my husband told my daughter it was time to go to bed. Her response? “Daddy, I want to keep watching Bobby Flay!”

2) We went to Barnes and Noble the other day and walked by a table featuring cookbooks from Food Network personalities. I pointed to a book and asked my daughter who she saw.

“That’s Rachael Ray!”

“And who’s this one?”

“Oh, Paula Deen!”

“And this one?”

“Bobby Flay”

“How about this one?”

“Ina” (as in Garten, Barefoot Contessa)

. . . I’ll stop there. πŸ™‚

If she turns out to be a celebrity chef one day, she’ll be able to say, “It all started when I was two and my parents got cable . . .”

6 comments

  1. How funny!

    I like Good Eats and Ace of Cakes personally. And the series that Alton Brown does where he’s on the road going from place to place eating, Feasting on Asphalt. And Bizarre Foods, but I think that’s on some other channel, the Travel Channel maybe?

    I try not to watch too much of the “here’s how you can actually make stuff to eat” shows because then I’d feel compelled to go into the kitchen and actually cook. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

