spaghettipie

Writing and Blogging

On this blog I talk a lot about parenting and generally what’s in my brain, but I haven’t spent a lot of time on another important aspect of my life: writing. For those of you who didn’t know, I am indeed another aspiring writer. One day maybe I, too, can go on strike and effect an entire industry. But for now, I’m working on blogging consistently, writing magazine articles, and one day working on a book proposal (or ten.) My desire is to write non-fiction, relationship-focused stuff, but I’m not exactly sure what the common thread is for the ten or so books in my head.

Anyway, I got into blogging because I thought it would be good practice, as well as an encouragement to write consistently. In the back of mind, I also hoped that it would help me start building some level of a platform since I don’t really have another viable method to do that right now. As I’ve progressed in blogging, it’s become much more than that to me, and I realize my initial thoughts about platform-building were naive (certainly, I’ll have to do much more than blog to build a platform!)

Last fall, I coordinated a blog tour for my friend Mary DeMuth, and since then I continue to dabble in the concept of blogging as a part of an author’s marketing and publicity campaigns. I find this whole realm of social media fascinating, particularly with it’s growing influence on other types of media, and even our daily lives.

With all of that background, what I’m excited to tell you is that beginning next week, I’ll be posting a series on blogs and blog tours and their effectiveness in publicity and marketing. I’ve been interviewing authors like Mary, Camy Tang, and Randy Ingermanson. I’ve also talked with some marketing and publicity experts like Rob Eager, Jeane Wynn, and Kate Amaya. I even received some insight from blog alliances like the Christian Fiction Blog Alliance (CFBA) and the Fiction in Rather Short Takes (FIRST) Day Blog Alliance.

So be watching out for those interviews next week! I’m really looking forward to sharing them with you.

8 comments

  1. spaghettipie

    A – I’m glad you’re excited!
    H – No, that’s his newest novel. I’m about half way through, and I love it just as much as I enjoyed Empire Falls.

  2. spaghettipie

    C – Thanks for stopping by.

    MR – The way I see it, we’re all on the same team, so why would I ever withhold information?

  3. Pingback: Reminder and Update « spaghettipie

Leave a Reply

