spaghettipie

Blast Out Blog Tour for Trish Berg’s Latest Release

For the past two years, I’ve kept a running list I lovingly refer to as the Preg-O list and – this is no exaggeration – at least ten friends have been on it since I started it. We’re just at that season in life of having babies.

When I coordinated a blog tour for Mary DeMuth, I had the privilege of being introduced to Trish Berg. I was immediately fascinated by her supper-swapping ideas. When I visited her website to learn more, I found a place chock-full of information for me as a mom. Her newest book, Rattled: Surviving Your Baby’s First Year Without Losing Your Cool is a great resource for new moms. It’s an easy read, broken down into small sections that can be read when you have a few extra minutes. Trish is currently promoting her book through a one week blog tour, and I’m excited to have her here today to offer some insights into surviving that first year.

I’m also excited because I have a copy of Rattled to give away. Leave a comment on this post, and I’ll draw a name next Wednesday. Be sure to lave me some sort of contact information, and be sure to come back to see who won!

And now, without further ado, here’s Trish.

Since the focus of the day is LOVE, what’s one thing you love about each member of your immediate family?
What a neat question. Though it’s difficult to only list one. But here goes…

My husband, Mike – I love to see him get silly with the kids. He plays games, baseball in the yard, wrestles on the family room floor. Just watching him play with our kids makes me love him even more.

Hannah, my 12 year old – I love how she cares for everyone. She has a compassionate heart, and is very intuitive to others feelings.
Sydney, my 10 year old- I love how creative she is. She loves making up stores, acting, singing, and making things out of construction paper.
Colin, my 8 year old – I love how he is my snuggle boy. He loves snuggling with me on the couch, hugging me, and hanging out with old mom.
Riley, my 5 year old – I love how she entertains the family. She loves being “on stage” and performing for us all.

What do you think stresses moms out the most, especially during that first year?
I think moms put a lot of pressure on themselves to do it all by themselves, and to do it all the right way. They need to simplify, let go of many details, and ask for help, from their husbands, and from family, neighbors and friends.

So, what’s your advice for new moms who are facing that kind of stress?
I would tell moms to relax. No one does it right all the time. Let the laundry pile up. Leave the dishes in the sink, and just enjoy holding your baby today. Don’t worry about doing “it” right, just enjoy the moments you have.

With today being Valentine’s Day, what suggestions do you have for keeping the romance alive during that first year of parenthood?
The first year of motherhood is exhausting, but moms and dads need to remember that they are husband and wife first. Valentine’s Day is the perfect time to do just that. And romance does not have to cost a fortune.

One neat idea is what I call a Date-In. Put the baby to bed early, get dressed up and have a romantic, candlelight dinner for two at your own kitchen table. Or write your husband a love note, and hide it in his briefcase or on the rearview mirror of his car.

Most of all, keep talking. Communication is crucial. Take time every day to talk one on one. Even if it is only ten minutes before bed, or at breakfast. That ten minutes will mean a lot because it is the time you re-connect with one another, And romance is about connecting with each other.

Finally, if you could be doing anything at all right this very second, what would you LOVE to be doing?
Sleeping. In bed. I know that sounds boring, but I am up late a lot lately writing my second mom book, Frazzled. And the late nights are wearing me thin. So I guess right now, I’d LOVE to be in bed, under the covers, sleeping.

Either that, or in Cancun on a romantic weekend with my hubby. Sitting on the beach in the sun would be a close second.

Thanks, Trish! I appreciate you sharing your insight with us.

Be sure to check out Trish’s website for lots of information. You can even sign up for her weekly tips on simplifying motherhood. And of course, leave a comment to win her book or go ahead and order your own.

9 comments

  1. Cindi Hoppes

    I love books and reading! This book sounds like a very enjoyable one. Please enter me in your drawing. I appreciate it! Thanks,Cindi

  2. I’m about to be a first-time Grandma… yes, I’m SO EXCITED! But Baby is already three days late. My son and DIL are becoming parents, I’m sure it will scare the whatsit out of them once that baby arrives. They have the room all ready, new baby furniture, piles of little outfits and bags of baby hats and baby socks… everything ready for the patter of tiny feet to appear. They are both professional people without much baby experience and are bound to be “Rattled” at times so a bit of sage advice for “Surviving the First Year” would be absolutely WONDERFUL! Please put me in for the draw!!!!

  3. spaghettipie

    CH – Thanks for stopping by! Trish’s manageable sections and humorous anecdotes do indeed make this an enjoyable read.

    E – Congratulations! I hope the baby arrives soon and safely. I think everyone gets a little “rattled” as first time parents 🙂

    N – That’s a great suggestion!

  4. Pingback: Reminder and Update « spaghettipie

Leave a Reply

