spaghettipie

Did I just say that out loud?

This afternoon my daughter and I enjoyed the beautiful 80-degree weather on our back porch. As I have shown before, the stone area of our porch tends to get out of hand with weeds. Armed with a determination to not let the weeds become overwhelming (at least this early in Spring), I began to pull them up as my daughter played nearby. Soon she came over to me, interested in what I was doing and eager (as usual) to help. I pointed her toward a big patch of weeds and told her she could help me “do the weeding” right there.

After a bit she proclaimed, “I workin’ hard. I do weeds.”

I thought her misnomer was cute, encouraged her to continue, and praised her for being so helpful.

When dad got home, I proudly told him, “Hi! We’re doin’ weeds.”

Only after I said it out loud myself, I realized that the phrase could easily be misinterpreted to mean something quite inappropriate! I mean, I know some moms call that last hour before dad gets home the “witching hour,” but we sure didn’t need to go to that extreme to chill out!

2 comments

  1. spaghettipie

    um, yea! i almost took it down because of it – not sure if i offended or if people just didn’t know what to say 🙂

Leave a Reply

