spaghettipie

Easter Traditions

I’m curious to know, what are your Easter traditions?

As we’re approaching the first Easter that my daughter really can understand much, I’m trying to find meaningful ways to incorporate the real story of Easter into our week. I found a Patricia A. Pingry book on the Story of Easter that we’ve been reading. I’m planning to make Resurrection Cookies with her on Saturday evening, along with some decorated sugar cookies that we’ll deliver to neighbors and family. For us, I think that will be the right amount of discussion and focus, (I’m not exactly ready to do an Easter Tree – you know what I’m talking about mom’s group and Carol Jo Brazo fans) but I’m always on the lookout for other ideas.

Thoughts?

10 comments

  1. My parents blared the Hallelujah Chorus from the tape deck (after the record player broke) to wake us, and let me tell you, that made me understand what rising from the dead meant.

  2. We do the Easter Tree that Carol Brazo describes in No Ordinary Home – definitely tedious as it’s (supposed to be) one ornament per day through Lent and Holy week. Love it, though. Krista (notbymight.blogspot.com) is doing a really cool Holy Week poster with her kids, they add something every day during the week, it seems profound and simple at the same time. She should post on it!

  3. We use Resurrection Eggs, along with the children’s storybook, Benjamin’s Box (by Melody Carlson). Invariably I start too late (I’m ready to start during Passion Week, but haven’t found anything for kids that is just that long). But we play catch-up and my kids seem to appreciate it.

  4. Our Easter tradition is actually Passover. My children look forward to doing a Christian form of this ancient practice. It is the most meaningful thing we do in this season. I think the power comes in all the concrete symbols that children are touched by throughout the ceremony. Also, they are formally part of the “telling” and the “asking”.

    And besides, who can pass up a Jewish form of biscotti? ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Wow. What a question. Kind of opens up the entire can of … eggs?

    With four kids (the oldest of whom is heading off to college in the fall, and the youngest still in grammar school – geez, they don’t even call it that anymore, do they? Well, he’s a fifth grader, anyway…) we’ve done our share of juggling the holiday activities and exploring “alternative” ways to break from the worldly emphasis on material goods and candy.

    When it comes to Easter we did the resurrection eggs, which was good. We did advent calendars made for easter (Lent calendars?) paper chains, and one year we even watched The Passion (not the little ones).

    Every year you’ll try something different. Eventually you’ll see what works for you and your family. The adventure is in the journey. It’s all good.

    The main thing is that you’re teaching her the truth. Truth can be conveyed in multiple ways, but when it comes down to it, it’s the message that matters more than the means.

  6. spaghettipie

    H – That made me laugh out loud! Maybe I’ll try that one.

    TJ – Maybe one day I can graduate to a Carol Brazo tradition like the Easter Tree. We’re not there yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

    AMM – I forgot about Resurrection Eggs. I ought to go pick some up.

    LL – In a couple years, I think I’d like to try a Seder dinner. When did you start that with your kids?

    MR – I totally agree with your thoughts on teaching the truth. I’m sure it will look different each year too since she’ll have different levels of understanding.

    All – Here’s another great link Portrait of a Writer. Gina is another high calling blogger.

  7. Pingback: Holy Week Thoughts Around the Network : HighCallingBlogs.com

  8. Pingback: Holy Week Thoughts Around the Network

Leave a Reply

