spaghettipie

These are a few of my favorite things . . .

Some favorite phrases that my daughter uses . . .

  • “Mommy, what me doing?”
  • “Yes, she/he dooze” (instead of “does”)
  • In response to Where are your (fill in the blank)?: “I don’t know. They must be around here somewhere.”
  • On the potty: “Please go away. Please don’t smell my poop.”
  • “I got a nail” (when she has a broken fingernail)
  • “I got parkies” (meaning, sparklies – which refers to painted toenails)
  • “I’m flashing you” (meaning, I’m shining my flashlight on you)

And then we have these favorite words:

  • Nail fire = nail file
  • Bummer = bottom
  • Compu = computer
  • Sockpants = tights or leggings
  • Holdjun = hold me

Photos: Building blocks and Tea Party (2008 ) by R. Brunson

11 comments

  1. Well really, whom among us does not wish for people to go away and not smell our poop?

    πŸ™‚

    Hey, speaking of kids and ummm…stuff, the first Saturday in May, I think it’s the 3rd, is Free Comic Book Day. Most comic shops are giving out some free comics. Let me see if I can find the list… here is a list of what they’ll have for free, although not every store gets every comic. Owly is great for kids, I don’t think there are any words in it, it’s like Gon that way. Amelia Rules is pretty good, too. But there are words in that one. Of course Iron Man/Hulk/Spider-Man/Superman will be represented, too.

    Lonestar comics on Hulen is next to the Gamestop, Marble Slab, and Half Price books by the Dos Gringos. And practically around the corner is Y2Komics on Grandbury Road next to Harbor Freight, nearish I20. Probably Y2Komics will let you take more free stuff home, Lonestar tends to get all “one per person”-y.

    Oh, and the same day over in Dallas is a free comic book convention, Cape! 4. From the pictures of last years event it looks to be kid friendly. Lots of kids running around in costumes anyway.

  2. Though I have never been big on baby talk or even terms of endearment, my wife and I picked up “I wudge (love) you” from a little one she used to take care of. We still use that phrase with each other to this day.

  3. spaghettipie

    A – Thanks, I thought they turned out well too!
    M – That’s pretty funny.
    MEH – It’s sometimes disturbing to hear her mom’s words come out of her mouth. . . πŸ™‚
    M – Now aren’t you just a wealth of comic book information??
    C – It’s funny the things we pick up from kids. I wudge it.
    MR – She’s growing up too fast! I’m clinging to every moment.
    LL – πŸ™‚

  4. Zach also says “They must be here somewhere!” It’s so funny to have these mature phrases coming from the mouths of ones so young. Zach’s newest thing is “This is not the point!” πŸ™‚ Guess where he picked up that one. Oh, I love seeing Buzz at the tea party. Too cute!

  5. spaghettipie

    T – Isn’t it though? Yes, I thought Buzz at the tea party was quite appropriate. Too bad we didn’t have a little flowered hat.

    K – I should get it on camera! I’ll work on that for next time.

Leave a Reply

