spaghettipie

The Plan

Generally speaking, I typically have more success when I develop a plan to follow. It’s like when I have my quiet time. I learn more and spend less time wandering around aimlessly when I have a Bible study or devotional book to help me. I don’t do so well with a vague, sit-down-with-the-Bible-and-journal and just hope something inspirational happens.

As you’re reading my list (and possible even considering some of it for yourself), please remember this: I view lists like I do recipes, as guidelines. My to-do lists may include tasks I need to complete now or six months from now, ideas I just want to try, or brainstormed items I want to remember for a rainy day. If you struggle with legalism, this kind of plan may not be the right one for you. I don’t want the list to consume you and become your focus, rather than the end goal.

So without further ado, here it is.

1) Put on my armor every morning. (Ephesians 6:10-17) This is as much about wearing the armor as it is reminding myself daily that I’m in a battle and need to guard my mind.

2) No food until I’ve had my daily bread. This is my only rule for myself. We have a routine every morning which affords me some time to eat breakfast, clean up the kitchen, read email, and blog. I am re-prioritizing my morning to go first to the Word and prayer. I think sometimes I get trapped into thinking I can’t study my Bible while my daughter is up and around because I might get interrupted. The reality is I really don’t have any time in my day when I will be interruption-free, and I want her to come find me studying the Bible or praying sometimes!

3) Create a prayer support team. I’ve asked a couple of friends to pray with me through this issue over the next six months. As Real Live Preacher pointed out in the previous post, support groups are crucial. This small team will keep me accountable, as well as help keep me covered in prayer.

4) Memorize Scripture. I’ve written down several verses, each on half of an index card. They easily fit in my purse, and I pull them out from time to time during my day and review them.

(wow up to this point, it doesn’t sound like your traditional weight-loss plan, does it?)

5) Work through a slightly modified version of my weight loss plan from earlier this year. Here’s the update. As you might remember, I added a new component each week.

  • No food after 10pm
  • Choose healthy options for snacks. (That includes getting rid of the unhealthy options in my house and stocking up on good alternatives)
  • Drink 48 oz water per day.
  • Eat oatmeal for breakfast twice a week.
  • 100 crunches a day.
  • Eat salad for lunch once a week.
  • Exercise 30 minutes a day.
  • Go to the gym twice a week.

6) Add a Sabbath to our week. I’m not quite there yet, but I really want to start doing this before the end of the year. I need to pray and think through it a little more.

Well, that’s it for now! As usual, would love any thoughts or additional ideas.

7 comments

  1. Amy

    Thanks for posting. My husband and I have been talking about food issues and our family eating habits a lot lately, in light of the global food crisis. One book that really challenged the way I thought about food and eating was a cookbook called More-with-Less: Recipes and suggestions by Mennonites on how to eat better and consume less of the world’s limited food resources. It’s full of reflections on our stewardship of our bodies, our money, and the world we live in (the environment and the poor in particular). It was first written in the 70s and frankly many of the recipes are bland (but it does have some good ethnic food from Mennonite workers abroad). But the book is full of wisdom otherwise. I have often thought of recommending it for your stewardshipliving blog.

  2. (And have I told you my favorite ways to eat oatmeal? One is with a teaspoon of natural peanut butter mixed in. Mmmm. Another is with grated apples, cinnamon and walnuts. Again, mmmm. LOVE oatmeal!)

  3. Wow Tina– Good stuff. I am agreeing with you all the way! Will you keep us posted. Will email you about some thoughts.

  4. Pingback: Stewardship Living

  5. Pingback: On Losing Weight and Spark « Stewardship Living

  6. Pingback: An Update on The Plan « Stewardship Living

Leave a Reply

