spaghettipie

Mother’s Day in Review

I’m sitting here in a favorite coffee shop, sipping a latte on a Monday afternoon. I haven’t had to put anyone in time out, clean up messes I did not make, or give out bribes to stay seated in a shopping cart.

What have I done with my child, you ask? My husband gave me the best Mother’s Day gift EVER: a day off. He told me on Friday that he was taking a day of vacation today so he could watch my daughter while I did . . . whatever I wanted. Ah! It’s been absolutely wonderful. On top of that, my husband and daughter are having a fantastically special father-daughter day together, which also warms my heart.

I also wanted to share with you about what we talked about in church on Sunday. Our pastor shared with us the history of mother’s day, that it’s original intention was not about honoring/thanking our moms (although that is wonderful!) and all of the commercialization that goes along with that. The day started out as a call to mothers to band together and speak out with one voice. At its core, Mother’s Day allowed women to share their hearts concerning reconciliation, and issue a plea to be heard.

So our pastor wanted to capture that intent and allow for women in our church to share their hearts for our congregation to hear and honor their hearts. He said that the woman’s voice is a sacred voice that should be heard, and ignoring it keeps us from fully understanding who God is (Gen 1:27 – He made male AND female in His image, together they paint the complete picture). I loved that this focused on women – and not in an ultra-feminist sort of way – in a way that remembered those who were not moms, had lost moms, or had poor relationships with their mothers. Then five women whom I admire greatly got up and shared their hearts; I was so encouraged! I’d love for you to listen to the audio here (Select Mother’s Day 2008). I’ve listed below one thing (among many!) that I learned from each woman.

Angela (a heart for missions): That it’s okay to have and pursue a passion outside of being a wife and mom. Submit those passions to Him and seek Him continually throughout the process, but remember He gave you the passions in addition to the roles you play.

Kathy (a heart for prayer): Prayer is important, and Paul does not recommend praying without ceasing as merely a “good suggestion.” It’s an imperative.

Nikki (a heart for family): Christ remained committed to the disciples, despite their lack of commitment (at times) to them. The same should be true for my relationship with my family.

Susie (a heart for children): See your relationship with all the children in your life as a blessing and an opportunity.

Belinda (a heart for hearts being redeemed): When we move toward each other with no guarantees, we feel vulnerable, but that’s what true community is all about. You don’t realize how tightly you hold onto lies that gave you life before, until you have to let them go.

If you listen to the audio and something resonates with you, please feel free to share as well.

I started to write about my heart, but it made the post too long. I’ll share it in another post this week.

Ladies, I’d love to give you a voice here, too. Will you share a little bit of your hearts as well? You can leave your thoughts in the comments or write a post of your own (but let me know so I can link to you!)

Happy Mother’s Day!

5 comments

  1. You drew me in with your first sentence…the coffee shop… the latte…ahhh. And I really enjoyed the rest of your post.

    What do I have a heart for? … I think I’d have to say, when I see someone hurting or in need, I am very affected. Especially if that someone is a child.
    Genny
    http://www.mycup2yours.com

  2. I loved the service on Sunday and the fact that it gave a voice to all women. I have a heart for hearing people’s stories, the ones that give a glimpse of their hearts; I think that’s why I read so many personal blogs.

  3. Just what is it about these coffee houses, and flavored lattes, (mine favorite being vanilla)? Where were they when I was in the midst of raising my children?, the escape oasis that I very well could have used. No, instead my generation had ….”Calgon, take me away!” Puleeezee!!! Anyway, we’ve come along way baby, sorry, another quip from the past!

    I enjoy your blog. Alot. I, too, am a woman of God, love to write ( my first book coming out in about a month) and am passionate about cooking, baking, eating, just about anything to do with food.

    My heart is for the hurting. God has blessed me with compassion which runs deep and wide for anyone that needs a good ear for listening and a shoulder to cry on. I am an intercessor for the hurting. We have a 24/7 prayer chapel in our church and we fill it with prayer warriors for the hurting, lost, what our church likes to refer to as “The One”.

    “What other nation is so great as to have their gods near to them the way the Lord our God is near to us whenever we pray to him?” Deut. 4:7

  4. spaghettipie

    Thanks so much to all of you who have shared! I love hearing your hearts and how you are responding to that passion.

  5. First let me say, “Way to go, Todd!” Perfect gift!
    Second “Way to go!” goes to Ted. Great sermon idea. What a blessing. I had no idea where it started.
    Thanks for sharing this.

Leave a Reply

