spaghettipie

Another Meme

I’m pretty sure I’ve missed a couple memes I’ve been tagged with, so this post is me playing catch up.

I was tagged with the 6 Random Things by Gina Conroy, the 1-2-3 Meme by Madison Richards and the Book Meme by D’Ann Mateer and I think Jeanne Damoff (which is incredibly old, and I would’ve forgotten about it except I have had a draft of that one saved forever.)

So, I’m going to pull an LL Barkat and completely change all of the rules.

I’ll share 6 books: one that . . .

1) changed my life,
2) made me laugh,
3) made me cry,
4) am currently reading,
5) have been meaning to read,
6) I’ve read more than once,

and I’ll post a few random lines from each one – three sentences, to be exact. And I’m not tagging anyone, but if you’d like to play along, definitely let me know about your post in the comments.

Book #1: The Fountainhead by Ayn Rand: She saw his mouth and the silent contempt in the shape of his mouth; the planes of his gaunt, hollow cheeks; the cold, pure brilliance of the eyes that had no trace of pity. She knew it was the most beautiful face she would ever see, because it was the abstraction of strength made visible. She felt a convulsion of anger, of protest, of resistance – and of pleasure.

Book #2: Bitter is the New Black by Jen Lancaster: “I didn’t blow it, if that’s what you’re implying,” I say. “I invested it in work clothes. People aren’t going to hire me dressed in rags, you know.”

Book #3: Daughters of Hope by Kay Marshall Strom and Michele Rickett: Then they left her to crawl back to the Lees’ house. The officer was right in that Zhang Yuan can no longer go house to house. But he was wrong about her work being done. Today she still “stands” as a faithful witness. (I know, four sentences, but I had to include the last one!)

Book #4: Stone Crossings by LL Barkat: Most people are not enamored of household chores, especially washing the dishes. So I’m embarrassed to admit it, but I like to do the dishes. I attribute this trait to my childlike attraction to water and suds, and a deep need to live on the inside. Doing dishes is a sign that I’m no longer the outsider I once was in my childhood home. (okay, four again, but this is hard when the passages are random.)

Book #5: A Severe Mercy by Sheldon Vanauken: The loss of Davy, after the intense sharing and closeness of years, the loss and grief, quite simply, was the most immense thing I had ever known. Long before, when we were raising the Shining Barrier, we had been haunted by the thought of parting through death. If we became so close, how should one of us bear the death of the other?

Book #6: Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte: A splendid Midsummer shone over England: skies so pure, suns so radiant as were then seen in long succession, seldom favour, even singly, our wave-girt land. It was as if a band of Italian days had come from the South, like a flock of glorious passenger birds, and lighted to rest them on the cliffs of Albion. The hay was all got in; the fields round Thornfield were green and shorn; the roads white and baked; the trees were in their dark prime; hedge and wood, full-leaved and deeply tinted, contrasted well with the sunny hue of the clear meadows between.

There you have it. Lots of beautiful words. Many with great meaning; but some of which is lost because it is taken completely out of context. Yet glorious nonetheless.

Happy Friday!

6 comments

  1. I like the way you turned this around! I think I was tagged for this too…just haven’t gotten to it yet.

    I think that’s one of the things I love about blogging. While there’s a level of commitment required, I can also blow things off and completely disappear for awhile if I need to!

  2. spaghettipie

    LM – Absolutely! We all understand that blogging comes only second to our every day lives!

    MR – My pleasure.

  3. Oh, I love Severe Mercy. I know you’ve been meaning to read it, so let me add my two cents: Mean to read it sooner! (And once you do, you’ll be able to add it to the “made me cry” category.)

  4. spaghettipie

    H – I know! Now that it’s down off of my shelf (in order to add the quote), perhaps I’ll read it sooner. 🙂

    B – I will have to warn you that if you struggle with obscenities, there are some in this book. But otherwise I found it to be pretty funny.

Leave a Reply

