spaghettipie

Christians and Alcohol?

Okay friends. I have a couple serious questions to pose, and I would really love your input. That said, I know this can be a controversial issue, and I certainly do not mean to stir up any dissent. Please think carefully about how you use your words if you decide to comment publicly. I’m also happy to receive any thoughts via direct email.

1. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of a Christian being involved in the alcohol industry?

2. Does it make a difference what part of that industry the Christian is involved in? (Meaning, is there some line where being involved becomes inappropriate?)

For example:

  • Owner of the alcohol-producing company vs. waitress in a restaurant who serves it
  • Truck driver who transports it vs. distributor who buys and sells it
  • Wine vs. beer vs. hard liquor
  • Liquor store owner vs. restaurant owner

Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

Related posts:

Ben‘s thoughts.

4 comments

  1. bitsydungaree

    Is it wrong for Christians to be doctors because some people abuse prescription pills? What about pharmacists? What about the Christian paint store owner who has to worry about the moral obligation of someone tagging with or huffing the product he sells?

    Alcohol in itself is not a bad thing. People abuse it, yes, but in today’s society, we’ve found a way to abuse pretty much anything.

    I enjoy being a Christian and a cocktail waitress, in part, for one of the reasons that I love being a Christian and an actress: I love being a light in a community where that is not the norm.

    I think, as Christians, we have a responsibility to venture outside of our comfortable church community and let the world see that there is something different in us. If we remove ourselves from environments and industries where people are lost, we are not carrying out what Christ commanded to do.

    Jesus took a lot of grief for the company he kept, and I think he set a pretty good example.

  2. In France, the Christians there were dumbfounded that some American Christians felt wine was morally wrong. “Jesus turned water into it,” they said, holding a goblet of ruby red wine in toast.

    Growing up in an alcoholic family, it was easier for me to just declare alcohol evil. But as I progressed in freedom in my relationship with Jesus, I saw it as something that could either enhance food and fellowship or something that could be abused. I actually had to learn to like wine in France. I still don’t love it, but I like it, and I no longer feel the need to judge those who imbibe in a like manner.

    I love what the commenter said above. Christians are to be light wherever they are. If we remove ourselves completely from the alcohol industry, where would the light be?

  3. My feeling is that these kind of situations should be taken individually. Broad statements are hard to make. For some, any connection with alcohol might be a negative thing in their community. I wouldn’t want to be a part of that community, but that’s their choice.

    But if not, and if the work is honest and not supporting something bad, then I think it is okay.

  4. spaghettipie

    All (including those who have emailed me) – I appreciate your thoughts. It’s a tough balance, and as you say, RLP, must be considered individually at the end of the day. What is God calling us individually to do? Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

