spaghettipie

Writing Contest

UPDATED with prize info 🙂

It’s Friday afternoon, and some of you are already checked out for the weekend. If you’re bored and ready for a mental break, I’ve got a deal for you. I’m hosting a little writing contest here, and I’m even going to throw in a small prize (Okay, we’re going for two of my favorite things: coffee and books aka $5 gift card to Starbucks and $15 gift card to Barnes and Noble)

I just completed an article on a local cemetery and went to said cemetery for a visit and some pictures yesterday. I was surprised to find the image below while I was there and could only imagine what in the world it was all about. When I showed the picture to my husband, I laughed at how different our immediate explanations were. So I thought I would offer it to you, my creative friends, as a writing prompt.

So here are the details:

  • Write a blog post (let’s say no more than 500 words) inspired by the picture below. It can be fiction, non-fiction, funny, serious, whatever you want – it’s your interpretation. If you do not have a blog, you can still participate. Just email me: spaghettipie(at)yahoo(dot)com!
  • Link to it by using Mr. Linky below (sorry the only way he works on my blog is by linking to a separate page). If for some reason Mr. Linky does not work, just leave me a message in the comments.
  • Deadline to enter is next Friday, August 8.
  • Pending how many entries we have, I’ll judge the finalists and then let you have a say in determining the winner. Hopefully the winner will be declared by August 12.

Okay, here’s the photo. You can click on it to make it bigger, and then even zoom in further if you want.

Have fun!

15 comments

  1. Used to study while in nursing school in the cemetery, which was next door to the hospital & dorm. No interruptions!

    Have to ‘fess up that I also took flowers back to my dorm room… appreciated them more than the cemetery dwellers.

  2. Sharon Glass

    I have written a 500 word story for the picture, but don’t know how to send it. I tried the link, but don’t understand it. Is there another way to submit? Thanks, Sharon

  3. spaghettipie

    C – What a funny place to study, but I can see how it would be very peaceful and quiet!
    SG – I’ll post your response soon. Thanks so much for participating.
    H – I hope you can! I would love to read what your creative minds comes up with!

  4. Used to watch fireworks from Green Oaks cemetery on Independence Day, back before they erected the anti-grave robbing cinder block wall. I always made sure I had another person between me and the closest graves in case they decided to take the opportunity to feed on braaaiiiiiins. 🙂

  5. One of mine was 503 words, is that ok? Or do I need to trim it down three words?

    Also, I did two. Since I didn’t notice the green thing when I first looked at the photo and once I did I thought of another story.

  6. I just got back from Texas and am off to Tennessee after tomorrow. So I wish you the best with this. And send love to ya’ll (see, I’m in a Southern state of mind. : )

  7. Pingback: Don’t forget to enter! « spaghettipie

  8. spaghettipie

    Here is an email submission:
    You’ve Got Mail
    Sharon Glass, Author

    “Grandpa, can I write you a letter when you go to heaven?” Tammy curled up beside Josh in the hospital bed; her blonde curls brushed his face and the scent of freshly washed hair momentarily took away the hospitals’ antiseptic smell.
    “Sweet girl, I promise you that if you write, I’ll get your letter.” Josh and Tammy had a special bond ever since she was born eight years ago. It broke his heart to think he might never hold her again.
    After Tammy left the hospital with her mother Sarah admonished Josh, “You promised something that won’t happen. Now, all she’ll remember is the last thing you told her was a lie.”
    “That’s why you’re going to put a mailbox at the foot of my grave.”
    “What! Have you lost your mind? I can’t believe you’re asking me to do this. I’ll look stupid. Do you want people to make fun of your family?”
    “Sarah, how do you know I can’t get Tammy’s letter in heaven?”
    “Joshua Campbell, you’re talking foolishness now, must be the medication.”
    “What if it isn’t foolishness Sarah? Will you promise me you’ll do this?”
    Sarah knew she couldn’t refuse this last request from her dying husband, “Okay Josh, I’ll do it, but only because I think you want to remind everyone that you delivered mail for thirty years.” She smiled, leaned over and kissed his cheek. As she went to bed that night she wondered how she would explain this to her children and their families.
    The sharp ring of the phone awakened Sarah, “Hello. Yes, this is Mrs. Campbell.”
    Joshua was gone. Days later he was buried in the family plot.
    Sarah asked her son to purchase a regular mailbox with a bright red flag and put it at the foot of Josh’s grave. The children knew what their father had requested and seemed okay with it. She sat down with Tammy and they wrote a letter. The next day they went to the graveyard.
    “Can I put the letter in the mailbox and raise the flag so grandpa will know that he has mail? Tammy was so excited.
    “Of course you can sweetheart.”
    Tammy stood on tiptoe, deposited the letter and raised the flag.
    The next day at Tammy’s insistence they went to check the mailbox.
    “Look grandma, the flag’s down! That means grandpa got the letter.” Tammy ran to the mailbox.
    Inside was a letter addressed to Tammy. It was Josh’s handwriting.
    “Read it grandma, read it.” Tammy exclaimed.
    Fearing her legs would fail Sarah sat down on the grass. With trembling hands she opened the letter and read out loud, Dear Tammy, its beautiful here. Guess what? I have a job. I deliver mail between heaven and earth. So, you see, just as I promised, I will always get your mail.”

  9. spaghettipie

    Mike – Both your submissions were great! I think in all fairness, I’ll just consider the first one as your official entry. But I didn’t know you could write so well!

    LL – If I’d have known you were here, I would’ve waved in your direction. Have fun in Tennessee!

    Sharon – Thanks for emailing yours! I enjoyed reading it.

  10. Pingback: Writing Contest « spaghettipie

  11. Pingback: Writing Contest #2 « spaghettipie

Leave a Reply

