spaghettipie

The Big Surprise

Hello friends!

You might have noticed that I haven’t posted much this week. Or perhaps the handful of regular commenters realized that I turned comment moderation on. Well, it’s time to let the secret out.

My mom is spending her summer up on a little island off the coast of Maine. She’s been coming to this island since she was a little girl, as have I. This summer is her first time to be able to spend the entire summer up here, just as my grandmother used to do. However, the down side of that is we haven’t been able to see her in months. And as you parents understand, so much changes about a toddler in a matter of months! On top of all of that, she was going to miss out on several family birthdays, including her own. And this year is a big one.

So we refused to let her spend her 60th birthday alone. My husband, daughter, and I conspired with my dad to come up and surprise her for a brief visit. We got her work days rescheduled and plotted with a cousin who lives nearby. We arrived on Wednesday evening and stayed with my cousin. Said cousin called my mom that night and told her to meet the 10am boat because she was putting a package on for her. She didn’t mention that the package had “six legs and would be able to walk off the boat itself”, to put it in her own words!

Thursday morning, the day of my mother’s actual birthday, we boarded the boat and headed to the island. As we approached the dock, we ducked down beneath a window. I was able to snap a shot of her waiting, unsuspecting, through the window screen. (Here she is walking down the ramp behind the amazing Ashley Bryan). She later told me that she knew something was up, but had no idea what it was.

When she neared the boat, all three of us popped up in an open window and yelled “Happy Birthday!” She didn’t cry, but she definitely was surprised and thrilled.

My daughter was of course thrilled to see her grandmother. When Grand reached the boat window, my daughter said, “Hi Grand! Happy Birthday! I’m coooooold!” And quickly passed through the window into her grandmother’s arm in a half-greeting, half-get-me-warm embrace.

We walked back to the cabin, and quickly settled in. I feel like we’ve fast-forwarded in time into fall. We’re having a wonderful time resting, going on adventures, and spending time together.

And the view’s not so bad, either!

More pics and stories to come. But that’s why things have been quiet around here. I’ll post the winner of the writing contest soon.

9 comments

  1. How cool! Reading this I felt like I was right along with you guys! I’m glad that you had a great trip!

    My wife and I are planning a trip up there right now. We are from Florida, so we really look forward to seeing such a different environment like that. It looks beautiful up there!

  2. spaghettipie

    LM – Loads of fun! 🙂
    JD – She says thanks. And that she misses you!
    K – Don’t delay! You should come sometime. It’s beautiful. Now that you will be on the same coast . . .
    A – I’m a sucker for those kinds of pictures. I have a lot of them.
    DK – Where in Maine are you going? Your first time, I guess?
    S – We’ve got some serious Sabbath going on.

  3. I’m not sure yet, still checking some stuff out. But we are definitely planning on getting up that way. So, I am open to any recommendations that you might have! It IS my first time up that way, and I am excited! It looks like some beautiful country… I really like your bouy photos too…

Leave a Reply

