spaghettipie

And then she was three.

My sweet girl,

Just three short years ago, you made your debut a week late and then reserved a room in Neonatal ICU for a week longer. Now you hold my hand and chatter on as we make our way across the parking lot when I pick you up from preschool. I treasure every one of those moments with you!

What I love about being a parent is observing character traits God created in you grow along with you. Your strong will, desire to make your opinions known, and your expressiveness began at birth! From the beginning you have been a beautiful child who captures hearts wherever you go. You inherited being busy and chatty from you mommy, and your adventuresome spirit and caring heart from your daddy. And you constantly amaze me with how smart (and articulate!) you are. The things you say completely crack me up or overwhelm me because of their insight or their tenderness. Despite your tiny stature, you still command a presence around you and your spunk far exceeds your physical size. Your laughter is a delightful sound; and you definitely have one of the best giggles ever.

I could go on and on, precious girl, about what you mean to me, how I love you more every day, how I think each stage of life with you is even better than the next and how I could never have dreamed being better was even possible. You told me today that you didn’t want to be three; you wanted to be two. If I could, I would let you do that in a flash because I would love to suspend these moments in time forever. But I can’t, and I’m grateful that that’s the way life works because I can’t wait to see what a young lady you will become.

I pray that you will come to know Jesus early in your life, and you will walk closely with him all the days of your life. I pray also that I can be the kind of parent who models and teaches what it means to be a follower of Christ, and that with your Daddy we can steer all of the wonderful traits God instilled in you to his service and glory.

I love you so incredibly much.

Mama

9 comments

  1. I agree. Each new stage of parenthood brings new depths of relationship and a delightful blossoming of ideas and abilities. I’ve loved them all and still do.

    Happy Birthday!

  2. spaghettipie

    Thanks to all. One of the best parts of the day was when she came to me in the kitchen before school and asked me if her birthday had come. I said yes, today was her birthday. She asked me if she was three. As soon as I said yes, she ran shrieking into her daddy saying, “Daddy, Daddy! I’m three! I’m three!” Absolutely precious.

Leave a Reply

