spaghettipie

Losing Heart, Part I

So, I’m a little overwhelmed this week, and I’m not quite sure how that happened. But I want to post something here for you, so forgive me for double dipping a little. Here is a first installment on “Losing Heart,” based upon the study I presented this past Tuesday.

In our Women’s Bible study at church, we are currently reading the book Strong Women, Soft Hearts by Paula Rinehart. My particular portion came after a chapter on pain, which set up my chapter on “losing heart” by pointing out that in our pain, we come to a crossroads. We have a decision to make about what we’re going to do with our hearts.

So first, I want define what “losing heart” means to me. I don’t know about for you, but for me, I’ve used that phrase plenty of times, but I’ve never really stopped to consider how to articulate what it means. As I prepared for this talk, I came to realize that the idea of losing heart is more than just a feeling we can experience . . .  it’s bigger than that. It’s not just feeling down in the dumps, depressed, or scared. The “feeling” is just an indicator of a state of being. Losing heart is place in life that we sometimes find ourselves in.

A place where we have . . .

  • Lost sight of who God is – Do we see God as faithful, sovereign, bigger than our situation, trustworthy, detailed enough to care about us . . .
  • Lost sight of who we are – Do we remember that we are God’s creation and in that, he knows us in intimate detail? That we are his children; we’ve been adopted into his family and he loves and sees us as his own? Do we even remember that we have God-given desires and passions, much less what they are?

When the Bible authors talked about the heart the way we are discussing it, they referred to not only the core of your emotions, but also the very center of your thoughts, motivations, and even moral conduct. Some refer to the heart in this context as your inner man or your soul. Your heart is the grid by which you view life – and thus make decisions and take action. Proverbs 4:23 says that we are to watch over our hearts with diligence because from it flows the springs of life.

So when you’ve lost heart, you’ve lost your grid of how to view life.

It was easy for me to skim over this chapter and think because I’m not depressed or down in the dumps that it doesn’t apply. When I was forced to articulate a definition and saw that it was more than a feeling, I realized that in some respects I have lost heart.

How about you?

8 comments

  1. Sars

    I am currently on the precipice of losing heart. If only I had someone to give me solid biblical teaching to avoid tumbling over the edge. . . Oh, wait, there goes that excuse. Now I might have to actually apply some truth to my life. Dang it.

  2. spaghettipie

    S – 🙂
    TJ/Krista – I recommend it. Lots of food for thought.
    Kaye – Thanks for stopping by! The study has been extremely enjoyable and beneficial. What are you studying right now?

  3. Pingback: Losing Heart, Part II « spaghettipie

  4. Pingback: Losing Heart, Part III « spaghettipie

  5. Pingback: Losing Heart, Part IV « spaghettipie

Leave a Reply

