spaghettipie

2.5 Feet

That’s the distance between my daughter’s bed and the pull chain for the light on her ceiling fan.

. . .  and that’s the distance that she jumped to turn out said light the other night, in true Tarzan-style.

She and her friend were going to have a little “slumber party,” and my acrobatic child decided to turn out the light herself, rather than ask for help. We heard a small thump and went in to investigate just as she was running out of her room, partial pull-chain in hand. While I admired her ingenuity, of course, I was fairly concerned about her judgment.

Evidently her friend enjoyed telling the story to everyone she met the next day: “(My daughter) leaped from the bed into the air to turn out the light! But the light broke. And her mommy was not very happy.”

Ah, the joys of parenting!

2 comments

  1. LOL! Awesome! I have a five-year old boy that continues to discover how much fun jumping off of things is, and I am wondering if I am crazy now for getting him a bunk bed recently… The (sort of) good news for is that now he doesn’t have to jump to get to the ceiling fan…

Leave a Reply

