spaghettipie

Election Reflection

I’ve been intentionally quiet on my blog regarding politics and the election, but as I watched the returns tonight I had a few thoughts to share.

I feel so privileged to have participated in such a historic election. In addition to electing the first black President, we’ve seen record voter turn out, early voting, younger voters, etc. The emotional intensity of this race has been exciting, even though I haven’t always appreciated some of the campaign tactics.

The other thought that occured to me is this: the bottom line is we all desire for our country and government to be successful. Which means regardless of who we voted for, our task now is to help the new President, Congress, and judges to make wise choices and govern our country with its best interest in mind. We easily get caught up in trying to prove who was right or who was wrong, waiting for the “other side” to screw up so we can point a finger and claim “I told you so.” Or waving our victory and clinging to it for validation and identity.

We all desire change in the current state of our country, and certainly that theme has emerged from this campaign and election. We place a lot of hope and expectation on one person, albeit the President of the United States, and yet he alone does not have the responsibility (or ability!) to make that change. Our country is like an 18-wheeler truck cruising down the highway at 65 mph. Getting that truck to change directions is a process, and we are often too impatient for results.

We all play a part in effecting the changes necessary to improve our country – its economics, its policies, its healthcare . . . everything. We have to do our part. Be involved. Stay informed. Pray. Let the desire for a government which honors God and leads well be higher than a desire to be right.

Note: I added this to Robert’s What I Learned From . . . Government writing project after I wrote it. Take a look there to see more reflections on government.

7 comments

  1. I wept last night. Not necessarily because of particular feelings about the winner. But because of what it meant in the context of our history and for the shaping of our future (on the ethnicity question). It was truly amazing.

  2. spaghettipie

    LL – I loved all the emotion involved in this election. To even see one of the commentators on CNN get misty was moving. Political leanings aside, it was an honor to witness first-hand history in the making.

  3. This election was monumental for me. Not for the obvious reason, but because I had the distinct honor of standing beside Luci Baines Johnson while listening to Barack’s victory speech. Her dad paved the way for this election and the tears that I saw her shed, I know were because she was honored to see that his work has paid off. At the end of the night, I told her that I was enamored to be in her presence and she told me that she was enamored to be in mine and that it was a great night for both of us and then she hugged me. It was a great night indeed.

  4. Pingback: Middle Zone Musings » All Entries: What I Learned From Government

  5. Pingback: Middle Zone Musings « Godspace

Leave a Reply

