spaghettipie

Sunday Morning Leftovers

sunday-morning-leftovers

Oh, man. This week’s sermon is going to stick with me for long time. If you are interested, I encourage you to listen to it here (Scroll down and look for Sunday’s date, 11/16). Below is a recap of what impacted me most.

“The root of all sin is the suspicion that God is not good.” – Oswald Chambers

At some point in our lives, many of us come to the belief that our independence creates a better life for us than God the Father does. We cling to a “false self” for our worth and purpose, but to walk in the freedom Christ bought for us, that false self must die.

Our false self is derived from . . .

  1. what I have
  2. what I do
  3. what others think of me

And here’s the kicker:
For any change to occur, we have to have a vision for God that is greater than our reliance on our false self. Our willingness to lose our lives (that false self) is related to our vision of how great God really is. Any place of sin in our lives is a place where we don’t get it yet; we still lack an understanding of who he is.

Okay, you’re turn. What’s your reaction and/or what are you learning about?

*a couple notes: My friend Tanya helped me realize that I should title this series “Sunday” morning leftovers, so I’ve changed the title! You’ll also notice the nifty logo. I have been doing a little design work for another project and am enjoying the creative aspect. Hence, the logo.

3 comments

  1. I struggle all the time with believing that my ideas for my life are better than God’s. And you are right — it is a DEATH to those ideas that gives me freedom from them. A death that feels just as painful and tragic as any other. Thanks for your wise words.

  2. spaghettipie

    Charity – What a blessing to have you stop by! You are so right – death is often painful, and I think that’s part of the reason we avoid walking through the process of dying to self. In our short term vision, self-preservation seems more logical.

    D – That’s a profound thought, for sure. I often refer to myself as a “fix-it” girl because I desire to fix everything. But many times I need to step back and realize that I cannot. I’m curious how acting upon that realization manifests itself in your life – what does that look like, accepting that limitations are God-given?

Leave a Reply

