spaghettipie

God Math and Gratitude

Uncertain and unstable economic times can highlight our desire for control and our materialism. We catch a glimpse of our self-reliance to “manage our futures.”

Even before the chaos in the current financial market, God began using finances to refine me. I’ve mentioned in posts before that our decision a couple years ago to stay home with my daughter required a big step of faith and submission of our budget to God’s will. As we walked into our new circumstances, we felt both fear and excitement. In our minds, we welcomed the opportunity to depend on God in the area of finances and be “forced” to consider our stewardship of our resources.

In reality, we still endured cycles of struggling. We could no longer spend money on what we just wanted without thinking about our budget. We had to choose not to do some things because we couldn’t afford them. Major, unexpected expenses sent us for a loop trying to figure out how to cover them.

And yet, God’s economy is different than our own. In those times of crisis, we’d pull our budget out again, reviewing every number to see what we could shave off, and realize in amazement that one plus one did not equal two.

One plus one equaled two and a half. Or sometimes three. Or even more.

God math.

Our needs were (and still are!) always covered. And – true to the very nature of God – we sometimes experienced abundance.

Even during the times we struggled with our faith and dependence upon God, taking matters into our own hands, he met our needs.

So what am I thankful for this season? That we serve a God who loves us down to the day to day details of our existence. That our God is sufficient to meet all our needs. He blesses us abundantly (even thought we may not always recognize it . . . but that’s another post). And that his grace and mercy does not depend on anything I do.

This post is a part of a marvelous Thanksgiving feast at LL Barkat’s Seedlings in Stone. Join the party over there for more dishes of encouragement and grace. If you’d like to join the celebration, write your own post and drop a comment by LL’s blog to let her know. As a token of thanks for joining us, L.L. will link to you in the Thanksgiving Celebration post (and Christianity Today and High Calling Blogs will link back to said post, so their readers can check out the full celebration).

15 comments

  1. madisonwrites

    I agree…seriously enjoyed reading this! It’s a matter of Kingdom economy, and it never adds up in our human minds…

    With Grace and Thanksgiving,
    Madison

  2. Great stuff. We have made many of the same decisions – my wife staying home with our four kids – and yet God continues to bless us. In fact, the more we seem to give, the more we are blessed – way beyond anything that can be counted in dollars and cents! Thanks for sharing.

    Grace and Peace,
    Chris

  3. LOL! This is great encouragement, but I laugh because I also just posted something on my site about finances. I saw a short video (on my post) that poked fun at the current mindset of many people regarding money. So I posted it, and shared a number of resources that I’ve found helpful in making some financial changes.

    Thank you for sharing! I love hearing testimonies like this, because they give us strength to press on…

    Dan

  4. spaghettipie

    A – They are stressful, aren’t they? Sometimes I feel somewhat insulated from the magnitude of the chaos going on around us . . .

    LL – Absolutely. I wouldn’t trade our decision for all the money in the world. Time flies by just too quickly.

    M – I’m so happy to see you! Isn’t it crazy how God’s economy works? In completely illogical ways . . .

    C – Thanks for stopping by! I look forward to checking out your blog. It is indeed beyond dollars and cents, isn’t i?

    D – I just saw that this morning! I haven’t watched the video yet, but I appreciated the links to resources you have found helpful.

  5. Tina, you MUST watch the video. It is from Saturday Night Live (which I know is not always the most appropriate), but this skit is hilarious!

    Additionally, my wife and I also recently made the jump to keeping her at home. So now we are the one-income family, and she is enjoying staying at home and homeschooling our boy Samuel who started Kindergarten this year. It has been a little tight, but she has been really helping keep us accountable with making changes. And I just noticed an unexpected surplus in our checking account!

    As you point out, the changes aren’t always easy, but well worth it!

  6. Thank you, thank you for this reminder! It’s so hard to make things work on one income, and with the way things are financially right now it’s so easy to walk in fear rather then in faith. His Grace is enough, one of the greatest gifts of being an at-home mom has been seeing how God provides for us, each step of the way. Although the numbers don’t add up, we continue to make it day by day and be thankful for God’s amazing provision.

  7. Amen, spaghettipie. I used to think God was a faraway God who wouldn’t care to be involved in the day-to-day decisions of my life. A few years ago, I learned differently. But now I do take for granted that He’s there. I often try to “fix” things on my own before turning to Him. Thank you for the reminder.

  8. Sars

    “Manage” is now a four-letter word for me, since when I use it it’s almost always leading me toward trouble and away from Him.

  9. How I admire you for stepping out in faith to stay home with your daughter. My wife and I are trying to work something similar out with our children, and it’s a daunting task. This post gives me hope that it can be done, and done well.

    Thank you for this.

  10. Pingback: The Ten Dollar Blessing Challenge « spaghettipie

  11. Pingback: Christa Allan » Will you join me in The Ten Dollar Blessing Challenge?

Leave a Reply

