spaghettipie

The Ten Dollar Blessing Challenge

This post will stick at the top of my blog for a little while. Scroll down for the latest posts.

10-dollar-blessing
Last week I read a post by Billy Coffey entitled The Ten Dollar Blessing and A Lesson in Circles. (Go there and read it now!) The story touched me deeply. I couldn’t just read it, leave an encouraging comment, and move on. I pondered what I should do for the next couple days.

In the meantime, I also learned more about the Advent Conspiracy.

Financially, life is difficult. The market is crazy, budgets are tight . . . we feel unstable and insecure. And yet, I still have much: a car, a home, a family, a meal on the table, etc. How do I let stories like Terri and her mother’s and projects like the Advent Conspiracy change me? Change how I act? Change how I love others?

As I explained my heart to my mom, the answer came to mind: Take two, ten dollar bills and put them in my purse. Pray for an opportunity, and when it arises, give a ten dollar bill to someone who needs it. Repeat.

A simple action. A small amount of money.

And while it doesn’t feel like much, in God’s hands that ten dollars has the potential to change someone’s day. Or his or her week. Or life.

And I’m willing to bet that the life that is changed will be mine.

So, friends, beginning December 1st, I want to extend the challenge to you. Here’s what you do to participate in the Ten Dollar Blessing Challenge.

1. Get a $10 bill (or 2 . . .or get a $5; whatever dollar amount works for your budget – but I do encourage you to stretch a little), and put it in your wallet or purse.
2. Pray for an opportunity.
3. Give the $10 bill away . . . to someone begging on the side of the road, to cover lunch for the person sitting alone at the table next to yours, to pay for something the person behind you is buying, to the single mom in your kid’s class who’s struggling to make ends meet.
4. Write about your experience. If you have a blog, please post your thoughts and leave a link in the comments here. If you don’t have a blog, post your experience in the comments or email it to me.

Your experience may be life-altering, or you may not see the effects of it yourself. Either way, I’d love to hear about how you chose to give. If you write about your experience before December 5th, you can also include it in Robert Hruzek’s What I Learned From . . . December writing project. Otherwise, let’s aim to round everything up by December 19th.

Will you join me in the Ten Dollar Blessing Challenge?

15 comments

  1. Terri

    Now I’m the one in tears! I’m the Terri from the $10 blessing and I’m speechless and even more blessed at this moment! God bless you for this challenge, God bless Billy for his talent with words and God bless the kind stranger for starting this circle. It has been a gift to be touched by the goodness of so many!! Please, let’s keep the circle going!!

  2. I’m in! This is a great idea. Might I post this challenge on my blog as well and call out to my readers to participate, linking everthing back to your blog?

    This is great!! I’m so excited to do this. Thanks for the challenge!!!

  3. spaghettipie

    T – Thank you so much for stopping by! You’ve been such an inspiration!

    B – I can’t wait to hear about it!

    C – Don’t forget to write about it, too!

    JDL – Glad you dropped in (you are so faithful!). I’ve read similar type stories before, but something about the way Billy crafted that one really touched me.

    LR – I’m so glad you’re participating! Please feel free to post the challenge on your blog. You can even grab the graphic – or email me and I can send it to you. Thanks!

  4. Great. I grabbed the graphic. I’ll link it to this post. It’ll post on my blog on Saturday this week. How exciting. We’re gonna make an impact!!! I just know it.

    My blog hits Facebook and Edgy Christian Fiction writers blog daily as well…so that’ll help get it out there as well.

  5. Pingback: Middle Zone Musings » The Generosity of Others

  6. Pingback: Middle Zone Musings » Eeek! It’s Almost Over!

  7. Pingback: TEN DOLLAR CHALLENGE « Light of Truth

Leave a Reply

