spaghettipie

Sunday Morning Leftovers

sunday-morning-leftovers

Happy New Year, Friends! Sorry it’s been a while since I’ve written. I hope to be back on a more regular posting schedule now.

My Sunday Morning Leftover this week is related to a post I wrote a couple months ago. I had two realizations this week – neither came from the actual church service.

1. I need Sunday mornings to feel connected to the community! I came home feeling more connected than usual (I should also note that I’m an extrovert, so I get my energy from being around people), and I realized it’s because I haven’t been to church in the past couple Sundays. We’ve hung out with friends in the interim, but something about being at church together to worship and learn adds another layer to our relationship. I didn’t realize how much I missed that until I came back.

2. The time my husband and I have invested in building relationships has begun to bear fruit. Each month we intentionally seek out others we don’t know well and invite them over for a meal. We always have a great time, and the evening usually ends in a “let’s definitely do this again sometime” . . . but we never really do unless we (my husband and I) follow up. I don’t mean that to sound like a complaint, but sometimes you just begin to wonder. Anyway, my point is on Sunday morning we saw many of the people we’ve had over and felt genuinely connected with them. We both missed each other, were delighted to see each other, and enjoyed catching up – if only briefly. I don’t know how else to explain, other than it just felt good. Like community.

So how about you? Whatcha been learning about?

One comment

  1. Jenn

    I’ve been learning to let go. Let go of expectations. Of past hurts. Of disappointments. And most importantly, of my tendency to try to navigate my own life. I’ve been taking the time to see how much God loves me.

Leave a Reply

