spaghettipie

Stone Crossings

I’ve been meaning to write about LL Barkat’s book, Stone Crossings, for quite some time (sorry LL!!).

I first found LL in the comments section of Mark Galli‘s blog and followed her over to Seedlings in Stone. Right away I was hooked. LL can find Jesus in not only the “Hard and Hidden Places” but in every day life, green inventions, and in the yard. When I found out about the release of Stone Crossings, I ordered it as soon as possible. I stayed up late reading the first two-thirds of the book the day it arrived. I love the way the book flows, how LL intertwines her personal story with God’s truth, that she doesn’t provide easy answers but always points us back to grace.

In Joshua 4:1-7, the Lord commands Joshua, “Take twelve stones from here out of the midst of the Jordan (river), from the very place where the priests’ feet stood firmly, and bring them over with you and lay them down in the place where you lodge tonight.” Those stones served as a reminder and a teaching point for the children of what God had done (they had crossed the Jordan on dry land). A memorial of stones. An altar.

When I saw the cover of LL’s book and considered what the title meant to me, I thought about a tradition our family began several years ago after reading Carol Brazo’s book, No Ordinary Home. In a corner of our living room, you’ll find a small basket of rocks we’ve collected from a special beach on our trips to Maine. If you take a closer look, you’ll see writing on some of them – usually a word or two on one side and a date on the other. Each one memorializes something God has done in our lives. A sort of altar.

In these difficult and uncertain times, with many big changes on the horizon globally, nationally, and – for many of us – personally, we have to remember those stones on which we crossed the landscape of life. Some of them are hard, no doubt. But they provide stability and a foundation on which we can walk.

I’d love for you to check out LL’s book and blog. And with this being January, maybe now is a good time for you to think back upon your stones and thank God for his grace in your life.

Related posts: My Advent Reflection on Hope // LL’s Blog a Photo

5 comments

  1. Actually, I have viewed LL’s blog some and am debating on buying her ‘Stone Crossings’ book, but I already have my head in so many other’s right now….lol. I guess it would be wise for me to finsih the 3 I already have started before I go any further.

    And it’s so true; the stones are like Altars!

  2. boundtohisheart

    i LOVE this idea of the stones! it reminds me of a message our pastor gave a few years ago, when he gave all the men in the church (it happened to be Father’s Day Sunday) a rock. And it was to be their “rock of remembrance”. We still have that rock out and it still causes my husband to pause.

    (btw, I’m a total newbie here and this is my first “comment”!)

  3. spaghettipie

    BTHH – Thanks for stopping by! I’m glad that you left a comment, and hope to hear from you more. I like the title: rock of remembrance. They are such a great visual reminder.

    N – Thanks for stopping by!

    S – I definitely recommend adding Stone Crossings to your reading list. If you like LL’s blog, you’ll definitely love the book.

    M – Let me know what you did and how it went!

Leave a Reply

