spaghettipie

Lightning Fast Homemade Salsa

Since I could eat my weight in salsa, thought I would share a quick and easy recipe today.

Ingredients*:
2 cans rotel** (whatever heat you want)
1-2 cloves of garlic, chopped
2 slices of onion, coarsely chopped (maybe this is around 1/3 C)
a handful of cilantro, no stems, but you don’t have to be meticulous (can’t believe I almost forget this!)
1/2 Lime
Salt

Directions:
Put rotel, garlic, cilantro and onion in a blender with two good squeezes of lime juice. Add a healthy dash of salt (maybe 1 tsp, or to taste). Blend away!

If you love salsa like me, and you could drink the stuff, throw equal parts salsa and chicken broth back into the blender. Blend until fine, then heat through. Add one more squeeze of lime, a dash of salt, and a dash of Worcestershire.

*This is pretty accurate, but please know that all amounts are subject to preference.
**If you don’t have Rotel in your area (how sad!), use one can of diced tomatoes and one can of green chilis.

8 comments

  1. Sounds great! My wife has a sister-in-law from Mexico, and she makes a REALLY good salsa. I just want to put it on top of everything that I eat. I’ll have to get that recipe to share with you sometime!

  2. Sars

    SP-Just made the salsa. It’s pretty good, but I bought the rotel with lime and cilantro and the ADDED lime and cilantro, so the balance is a little off. I’m sure I won’t have trouble finishing it off, though. I wasn’t expecting it to be quite so spicy, guess I haven’t had straight up rotel in a while. Hope your vay-kay is super-fun. We are cold here (hence the need for super-hot salsa.) Talk to you soon.

  3. D'Ann Mateer

    I make a salsa very similar to this one. I tried it several years ago and it was so easy that even I–who can’t cook!–could do it. Now my family won’t tolerate anything from a jar!

  4. spaghettipie

    DK – Oooh, I’ll have to get that recipe from you for sure. I have another one that I love to make but it is much more involved (roasting chilis and peppers . . .). This is fast, and I usually have all the ingredients on hand.

    SS – Glad you guys approved! Do I get another gold star? 🙂

    D’Ann – It’s hard to find a good salsa in a jar. They are mostly icky. In fact, I’ve only found one I really like, and I can’t even remember the name of it right now (although I can picture the label).

    LR – Let me know if you try it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

