spaghettipie

Sunday Morning Leftovers

sunday-morning-leftoversI entered the world of blogging through a post by Mark Galli about corporate worship. The post and the ensuing comments stirred a passion in me for community, shifting the lens through which I view life. The question that lingered with me from that experience is this: How much of our Bible do we interpret from an individual perspective, when the message was intended for the Body? We live in a culture that values individualism and self-dependence. Even in Christian rhetoric, we talk about my walk, God’s will for my life, my personal relationship with him, etc. I don’t mean to say that God does not care about us individually, but how much of the Bible are we interpreting (without even realizing it) to be for me, instead of us?

Last night I sat at a community group dinner and listened to a speaker talk about the theological basis for community. Our pastor also discussed it during his sermon Sunday morning. The bottom line is this: Community is part of our design. In the beginning, God said, “Let US make man in OUR image, after OUR likeness.” (emphasis, of course, is mine). God, within the Trinity, exists in community. In making us in his image, we also are created to be in community.

So I’d love to hear your thoughts or what you learned this past Sunday that’s sticking with you!

3 comments

  1. I liked the practical pointer that Ted shared for how to think through being frustrated with someone. For instance, ask yourself, “What am I demanding of this person? To act like me? To think like me? To hold the same beliefs I do?” The whole sermon was a great reminder that others do not exist for me.

  2. Funny, I just wrote about community over at High Calling Blogs (“Together Road”) and I have to admit that I thought of you when I wrote it. And that was before I read this post. : )

  3. spaghettipie

    A – I love it when he provides those grids. Great questions – thanks for the reminder.

    LL – I read that post and loved it (and the photo!) Thanks for thinking of me . . . 🙂

Leave a Reply

