spaghettipie

Work and Worship

I recently taught a session on Work and Worship in our women’s Bible study, and I think I’ll do a little series based upon that. Many of you know that I’m a part of a network called High Calling Blogs.

Here’s a brief excerpt from the “About” page:

Honoring God in our daily work is much more than mere evangelism. Our work itself should be a testimony to our creator. At HighCallingBlogs.com, we encourage each other to remember the high calling of our daily work.

What I love about this community – and why I signed up to be a part of it – is the recognition that all work is a high calling. In our Bible study, we discussed that work is more than your occupation, it’s what occupies your time. Work is what fills up your to-do list and  your schedule. It’s all of your activities, your tasks, and your “doing” (and you know I’ve been talking about doing lately . . . in fact, I’m thinking about writing a book about all this stuff). All of that doing is your work. And all of it is a high calling.

Now the thing about this issue of work and worship is that even we as Christians tend to define the topic too narrowly. We think the struggle in our faith is to merge work and worship together, so we say things like, “My boss is a Jewish carpenter” or “I’m an accountant for Jesus.” We even have lots of discussions about how to live out our faith at work. And while that is meaningful, it still misses the point when it comes to work and worship. Our goal isn’t just to find a bridge between our work and our worship. God desires that our work be an extension of our worship, coming out of an overflow of our heart. It’s not enough to try to mesh the two together; one must come out of the other.

I’d love to hear your perspective. And stay tuned for more thoughts on work and worship.

8 comments

  1. We are to do all things to the glory of God, as if working for God. This is worship.

    “Whoever speaks, is to do so as one who is speaking the utterances of God; whoever serves is to do so as one who is serving by the strength which God supplies; so that in all things God may be glorified through Jesus Christ, to whom belongs the glory and dominion forever and ever. Amen.” – 1 Peter 4:11

  2. In my faith, the Bahá’i faith, work is explicitly defined as a type of worship, as long as it is done in a spirit of service.

    “O people of Bahá! It is incumbent upon each one of you to engage in some occupation—such as a craft, a trade or the like. We have exalted your engagement in such work to the rank of worship of the one true God. Reflect, O people, on the grace and blessings of your Lord, and yield Him thanks at eventide and dawn. Waste not your hours in idleness and sloth, but occupy yourselves with what will profit you and others.” ~ Baha’u’llah, The Kitab-i-Aqdas, Pages 19-34

  3. spaghettipie

    TD -Thanks for sharing that verse. When we place the focus of our work beyond ourselves and see that it’s for God’s glory, it makes such a difference, doesn’t it? When we really view him as the one to whom all glory belongs, and we begin to truly worship him, we don’t even have to “do” things for the sake of his glory . . . it comes out naturally as a form of praise.

    AWC – Thanks for stopping by! I love hearing about the points of similarity in our different faiths. We have some similar encouragement around laziness in the Proverbs. When I read the passage you quoted on it’s own, I get a slightly different focus than what I believe about the purpose of work. How would you describe the purpose of work in your faith?

  4. marie

    Col. 3:23, 24 “Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart…It is the Lord Christ you are serving.”

    It may be simplistic to say “I am a mom for Jesus”, and it may not encompass the whole discussion on the topic of my worship and work, but it is true. Reminding myself of that phrase/idea helps me to discipline my unruly mind and heart to see what is Reality while my mind and body function in reality.

    Can’t wait to hear more on what you learn. It is an interesting topic.

  5. I am passionate about this topic! Glad you are thinking about it too!
    check my blog out, hope we can sharpen one other as we both seek out truth.
    thanks,
    trisha

  6. I’ve been leading our Ladies SS class through a book by Linda Dillow “Satisfy my Thirsty Soul” and this week’s chapter is on I Bow My Work – the theme of the book is worshipping God in EVERYTHNG we do and this chapter focuses on changing diapers, doing laundry or going to an outside work and seeing it ALL as worship.
    “Laborare est orare; orare est laborare” means
    “to work is to worship; to worship is to work”
    This Latin phrase used to be posted in places of work to remind people of the true focus of their work.

  7. spaghettipie

    Robin, thanks for stopping by! That’s exactly the chapter I was teaching on for our Women’s Bible study! I really appreciated thinking through that whole idea. I’d love to hear what else you learned from the book.

  8. Pingback: Dealing with frustration in the workplace

Leave a Reply

