spaghettipie

Finding Jesus, Part 2

He sat alone and forgotten on the shelf next to the bathroom entrance.

Or maybe he was waiting for us.

Regardless, we found him as we noted the sign to “watch our step.” At first, we felt oddly aware that Jesus was watching our every move as we settled in to our cabin. Then we began to giggle at the sight of him being, well . . . bouncy. Not a bobble-head really, but a bobble-body. And with open hands (not quite charismatically raised, mind you, this was a Methodist encampment after all), he looked as though he was doing a secret little “raise the roof” gesture.

And then the late night silliness kicked in. Did we get irreverent? Perhaps a little. But I mean, c’mon. If you’re going to make Jesus on a spring, what do you expect? Besides I think the Savior enjoys a good laugh. And we had lots of those as we conducted our first mini-photo shoot.

Did we steal Jesus from the encampment? I’d like to say we just fully claimed Jesus as our own, committing to take him wherever we go and share him with others. (He’s since been to Chicago, and then passed along to bless some water in a friend’s fridge.)

7 comments

  1. spaghettipie

    LM – I forgot the soap! Well, I guess it really deserves a post of its own. Part 3 forthcoming!

  2. spaghettipie

    MD – I like you muchly too. Glad to provide a laugh.
    JD – Wow. You just took Bouncy J to a whole new level . . . 🙂
    A – I’m sure he’d love to, but he is no longer in my possession . . .

  3. “I found Jesus! I found you, bouncy Jesus! Hey guys, he was behind the water bottles the whole time!”

    I’d try to say more, but I’m a little ruined by this. Simply earth-shattering.

Leave a Reply

