spaghettipie

On Righteousness

In our Women’s Bible study yesterday, the teacher defined righteousness as being in “right relationship with God.” The thought was a new revelation to me. I’ve always thought of righteousness as “right living” but not necessarily “right relationship.” A subtle, yet profound difference. Right living is about my actions, checking boxes off a list, behaving correctly. Right relationship refers to the condition of my heart, my attitude, and my focus. You can’t fake a right relationship. You can fake right living. In fact, I guess you could say right living is a product of right relationship, but not necessarily vice versa.

Today, as I worked on another study, I read about Abraham. His faith was credited to him as righteousness.

That word struck me again: Righteousness.

Abraham entered into righteousness through faith. Through a belief in God and his word. Through trusting in God to carry out his plan – no matter how impossible it seems. And it occurred to me that having faith – that belief and trust – does put me into right relationship with God. Faith in him is the basis and foundation of rightly relating to him.

So, I’m pondering righteousness with fresh eyes today. How about you guys? What’s on your mind?

2 comments

  1. spaghettipie

    Thanks, Jennifer! So glad to hear from you, too. 🙂

    It is difficult to hold the two in one hand together, isn’t it?

Leave a Reply

