spaghettipie

When it Comes to Writing . . .

I realize I’ve been neglecting my blog. Oh, I post here and there, but I haven’t been very consistent – despite my constant “recommittments” to do so.

At first I thought the issue revolved around time. But let’s be honest. At the end of the day we make time for what is important to us. We figure out ways to make it work. And, really, I could redeem plenty of wasted minutes to write more than one blog post a week.

Then I thought it must be related to content – or rather, lack thereof. But I’m in three Bible studies (one of which I’m on the teaching team) and a mom’s group, I regularly attend a church service where I’m taught, and I have an active and verbose four-year-old daughter. I have plenty of content. In fact, I often think of topics on which I could write. I just never seem to get around to writing about them.

I’ve finally come to the conclusion that I must be passionate, deeply impacted, or thought-provoked by something to write about it. Some people write because they can’t help but write. I only write about the things I can’t get out of my mind. But in those cases, I do have to write about them. Expressing my thoughts in actual coherent statements, in black-and-white type, in a tangible form helps me to process through them, finding meaning in life – both the mundane and the difficult, the joyous and the disheartening.

I write to think and to clarify. And in a phase of life when my thinking is muddled from extra hormones (thank you pregnancy) and lack of sleep, I don’t often have the time or energy to spend thinking. Which means I find myself not writing as much.

But I miss it.

And I miss the space to engage my mind. Jesus calls me to love him with all my heart, soul, strength, AND mind. When I’m not fully engaging him in all of those areas, part of me feels incomplete. Slightly off.

So here’s to more thinking . . .  and writing.

What’s on your mind?

5 comments

  1. LJ

    I’m impressed that you are still able and willing to write with all you have going on in your life. My thoughts are about so many random things like kids, husband, school, broken van, and “is it my turn to teach this week”. I feel like I think in a mosaic pattern – chunks here and there and I always struggling to get more “chunks” of the Lord in my mosaic!

  2. Feeling your angst and ambivalence regarding my own blog. I write regularly, then I lapse, then I recommit, then I write regularly, etc. And you’re right: it’s not as much about the words (though it’s definitely about them) as it is about the thoughts. And taking time to formulate and calibrate our thoughts on a regular basis. This was a post I needed today!

  3. I too, generally, write only what is quite pressing on my mind. I have a lot going on in my head at any given moment, but mostly, I do not find it to be things worth documenting. I know we are supposed to write daily if we want “followers” but I find that my blogging is more often for me and the Lord…so it’s all on His time table!

Leave a Reply

