spaghettipie

Quiet Time Freedom

First of all, thank you to all the faithful men and women who have served our country in the armed forces (my dad among them!). It’s easy to gloss over a holiday like today, but I never want to take the freedom we experience in this country for granted.

And on the topic of freedom . . .

I was spending some time working through a Bible study this morning, after having spent an inordinate amount of time convincing my youngest daughter to take a nap. As I came upon an exercise that required me to look up Scripture reference after Scripture reference, I found myself getting anxious. I considered skipping some “in the interest of time” so that I could just get through the meat of the material outlined for the day. I had this feeling that at any second my daughter would wake up, and my time would be cut short, so I had to cram in as much as possible into that unspecified short amount of time.

And then a flash through my dense skull.

The “meat” I was trying to get to was in fact in the Scripture. The material I needed to study for today would be adequately portioned out for me. It didn’t matter if my time was “cut short.” In fact, if I was taking time to absorb and meditate on the content of the Bible passages and the study, I wouldn’t be left deprived if I didn’t make it through the entire day’s worth of material. On the contrary, I was depriving myself more by trying to slam it all down. Getting through as much of the study as possible was more about checking off a box than about sitting at his feet in devotion. (Ah, so that’s what devotional means . . .).

So I write today to encourage you who are busy and don’t have time. A few minutes of thoughtful reflection or communion with the Lord is better than none, AND it’s better than trying to cram in a bunch of content all at once. As a stay-at-home mom, that’s especially refreshing to me.

And for more encouragement about your quiet time, check out this article. A friend passed along part of it to me many years ago, and I recently found a version of it on the web.

Live free, friends.

Leave a Reply

