spaghettipie

He walked among us

My eight-month-old daughter overall is a happy baby. But one afternoon while we ran errands, she lost it in her carseat. I tried to console her from my place in the front. She quieted upon hearing my voice, but quickly determined that wasn’t enough. Her older sister, sitting right next to her, tried her best to entertain her. She stilled only momentarily. I snaked my arm into the backseat to touch her head and let her hold my finger, but that didn’t do the trick either.

Finally, we pulled in to our destination. As soon as she caught sight of me through her window – before I had even opened the door – she stopped crying. By the time I reached in to pull her out, she was smiling and babbling.

All because she saw her mama.

And I thought about God. How he speaks to us, how he uses others in our lives, how he reaches out to touch us . . . but sometimes we still flounder.

And then I pictured that sweet baby in a manger. And I remember that he walked among us. He made himself flesh so he could be seen. The Scripture is full of eye-witness accounts. The invisible became visible.

I’m so thankful for this season of Advent. I know that I should reflect upon the miracle of his birth all the time, but the fact is I forget. This time reminds me to pause.

Rest.

See.

John 1:14 The Word became flesh and blood, and moved into the neighborhood. We saw the glory with our own eyes, the one-of-a-kind glory, like Father, like Son, Generous inside and out, true from start to finish. (The Message)

4 comments

  1. D'Ann Mateer

    Beautiful, Tina! I’m taking a copy to read in our Sunday school class as we talk about the incarnation this weekend!

  2. Jessica Burk

    Girl. This literally brought tears to my eyes. So good! So true!

    (Btw–we’ve been working on simplifying (babysteps) and every time I get really into the process, I’m inspired by how you did it!)

  3. spaghettipie

    JD – Love you too!
    DM – Wow, thanks! I would love to hear your take-aways from your class discussion about incarnation.
    JB – You are so sweet. And way to go on the simplifying! Go, Jessica!!

Leave a Reply

