spaghettipie

Resolutions

20TamaraLackeyShe asked a simple question: “New Year’s Resolutions: Yes or No?”

I was surprised to find I was the only person who said “Yes.” At least, a partial yes. I am realistic enough to know that setting goals for the entire year doesn’t work for me. Too far out and I get discouraged and give up. Or just forget.

But there’s something about this time of year . . . as I take down Christmas decorations, reset my house, assimilate the new into the old . . . I feel invigorated. I’ve been handed a clean slate to Aspire. Dream. Envision.

I want to have the resolve to accomplish a lot of things. Lose weight. Spend more time with my family. Play harder. Hone my writing. Straighten out my finances. Better organize my business. Laugh more. Cook. Be fully present. Reign in time-sucking distractions. Read lots of books. Immerse myself in Art.

Whether or not all of those things are attainable for one person doesn’t matter so much to me right now. This time of year is exciting, full of potential and opportunity. That’s the beauty of resolutions. After encountering Hope in December, we are filled with Hope for the New Year.

Soak in the beauty. Engage in the excitement. Set some goals. Dream.

Welcome to 2013.

Photo credit: The amazing Tamara Lackey, 2011.

7 comments

  1. I love this, TIna! Isn’t interesting the way a simple question can sometimes take us down a path we hadn’t intended to travel? I agree with you about the hope of this season. Walking intentionally through Advent gave me a renewed sense of that hopefulness and anticipation.

  2. You should write posts every once in a while that correspond with each of those themes! I would love to read about how you play harder, cook, better organize etc.

  3. spaghettipie

    Jane – maybe, friend. maybe. but I am happy to talk with you about it at any time.
    Cheryl – writing, yes!!!
    🙂 Marcus – you responded after I did. Although I should have known that you would have agreed!
    Ann – thanks 🙂

Leave a Reply

